We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty rooms, and not a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms, and not a great location”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Location is far away from mostly everything, the staff (especially room service) were very, very rude, and quilts were disgustingly dirty, mine had what looked like blood on it, rubbish under the beds, also.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Kirsty
Thank you for the feedback and I am sorry to hear of your experience which unfortunately does not reflect well our normally high standards. Your comments have been shared with all concerned and we have commenced rectifying the issues raised with retraining in some areas also being undertaken to ensure our standards are consistently applied and maintained.
I was pleased to see from our logs however that we did locate & re-unite you with your i-Pad which was left behind when you departed.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    422
    219
    61
    41
See reviews for
164
349
80
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We chose this hotel due to its location and off street parking and we'd have say it was good and not so good. The good, the staff were excellent, very polite and helpful. The room was ok, some of decor aged and little tired, chairs were stained, mould stains in the bathroom grout and a particularly uncomfortable "double bed".

But the room was cleaned daily and the location of the hotel gave easy access to the city and an easier exit to the Barossa. Pick of the stay was the excellent Thai restaurant (Thai Chef) just around the corner, sadly that will be our lasting memory of the visit.

Room Tip: Sorry, little to offer with regard to getting choice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawls71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Crawls71
Thanks for the review. We are sorry the room you occupied appears to have needed some maintenance items attended to and apologise this was not done prior to your occupancy. I have reported this to our maintenance department and they will rectify this shortly.
We are ordering replacement beds shortly and expect that these will be installed in the next 8 weeks or so - in the meantime I have asked housekeeping to replace the one in your room with one of our spares which are not currently being used.
Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you stay.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The location is excellent. Parking is a little scarce (and tight).
The bed was a little hard and pillows a little soft.
We were disappointed we didn't get a room with a view (we didn't get "amazing views of Adelaide City and South Parklands").
Overall a nice hotel. Excellent customer service and lovely service at the bar.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JarrodBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Jarrod
Thanks for completing our survey and your comments which have been shared amongst the team.
We are sorry that on this occasion you were located on one of our lower floors with only limited views - we have made a note on your profile to remind us next time you stay you would like to be higher up. For guest's wishing a guaranteed view we advise purchasing either an Executive King or Superior Queen room type as these are located on floors 6 and above.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you stay.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I purchased our booking over the website which advertised a given parking space, we were only given a permit to stay in the first in first served public park.

First impression of room was okay, slightly dated. There was bird poo the size of my fist in the middle of the balcony floor, it wasn't cleaned during our entire stay.

On the second day we were forced to park of the street due to an inflow of visitors, I understand this is out of the hotels control because it is a public park but you should not be advertising that the park is included in your package if it is not insured.

What was truly disturbing was that we had multiple mystery stains on our bed, we noticed them after we got our of bed in the morning (we know with certainty they were not produced by us). When we left we had pulled the blanket off the bed so it was completely visible for the cleaners, when we came back, the room had been serviced but the sheets were not changed.

During our check-out, I was notified by the receptionist that my $100 deposit for the room would not be put back in my account for another 6 days, what could you possibly be doing with my money in that time? It takes less than a day to assess the room for damage and less than 24 hours to transfer the money.

With the money I spent and your supposed high star rating I expect a certain standard and this standard was hopelessly under the mark.

Will not be staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kayla r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Kayla R
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us and I am sorry your stay does not appear to have been as it should have. Your comments are very concerning. I ask you to please call me personally at the property so I can locate your booking, room number and stay dates and investigate your stay further.
We also share your concern regarding the length of time it can take for the credit card bond to be 'unfrozen' from your account. Unfortunately, this is beyond our control as it is a banking issue and not a directive of the hotel as explained in the credit card pre-authorisation card issued to all guest keys on arrival with your room keys. As also explained on this card, if the money does remain frozen for longer than 24 hours after your departure, please contact us at the hotel and we will notify your bank the funds can be released (we are unable to do this without being contacted by our guests as there is no record provided by the banks of which pre-authorisations may still be pending).
I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A regular spot for me because you are always well looked after, Great location to get to all parts of Adelaide. Prompt efficent staff always willing to help. Good range of local restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Rick
Thanks for the review on your recent visit. Your comments are very welcome and have been shared with our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time you stay.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Unexpected visit to Adelaide for funeral, chose hotel due to location was easy to find, & close to CBD, however, needed more facilities for late pm arrivals, could not get any "decent Meals" from room service at 10.30pm, or for breakfast at 6 am. ( breakfast did not open until 6.30 am and we had to leave at this time) Also needs a little more in mini bar - no wine , juice, or softdrink???? (Fridge consists of 4 beers, 2 waters, 1 choc, & 1 pringles. - not nearly enough choice) Hotel was clean, round the corner from transport to CBD, and easy to find for first time visitors. But room service needs to be updated .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Deborah
I am saddened to hear your trip and reason for staying was not for more pleasurable reasons and extend our condolences.
Your comments regarding additional items on the 24 hour menu and Mini bar lists are most welcomed and have been passed on to the appropriate department heads for consideration when next they make changes.
I am sorry for any inconvenience with the breakfast and have reminded staff that when guest's enquire or inform us of the need of an earlier time to please extend the Continental Options as a courtesy wherever possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked a mystery deal with Wotif, King bed room on the 9th floor was very clean and spacious. Staff were all friendly and efficient, restaurant and bar very nice, we would definitely stay again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Sage Hotel Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Joanne
Thanks for the review on your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the great deal you found on-line.
I look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.
Kind Regards
Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Chifley on South Terrace
Chifley on South Terrace
#38 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rydges South Park Adelaide
Rydges South Park Adelaide
#28 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Hotel Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Adelaide

Property: Sage Hotel Adelaide
Address: 208 South Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Grand Chifley Adelaide)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Adelaide 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sage Hotel Adelaide is conveniently located on the Southern Fringe of Adelaide CBD, overlooking the picturesque and tranquil South Parklands.Zouk Restaurant is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week and offers modern australian cuisine in a contemporary setting. Room Service is available 24 hrs.Friendly Staff, clean, modern rooms and FREE Parking, all within a 20 minute walk to the city centre make Sage Hotel Adelaide the perfect base for your stay in Adelaide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sage Hotel Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chifley Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
208 Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing