We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel should match the service”
Review of Adelaide Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelaide Inn
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed in the 'Quality Hotel Old Adelaide' and found the staff very off hand and we were dissappointed. Im very fussy with service excellence so should have taken note of the gentleman who took my initial booking for the accommodation as it was very unprofessional. I run 4.5star properties and I would not have survived if I had this off hand attitude on the phone or towards my guests. On a brighter note the room was beautifully clean and certainly very comfortable. On leaving the hotel after our three night stay we found again the staff at the desk very uninterested and certainly not friendly. How sad, as it really could be excellent especially is such a lovely part of Adelaide. So to the owner :please get some younger, more enthusiastic staff . Perhaps some graduates or students training from hospitality. We stayed at the Sebel in Adelaide last week for a couple of nights and wow the service there is excellent. Perhaps go down or send your older staff members down to get some tips on making guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FletcherSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Adelaide Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

I arrived at the Old Adelaide after flying all night from the Northern Territory. Delighted to say that a room was arranged immediately even though it was only 7 am . Wonderful old fashioned hospitality. Yes the Old Adelaide is an older establishment but i found it very nostalgic and spotlessly clean. Also everything is in walking distance , great selection of cafes, restaurants and even the Piccadilly cinema on the corner.
Would recommend and yes I would stay here again .

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArafuraGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

the problem with this hotel is the rating given, hence expected more luxury. The twin business room was tucked away on the ground floor by the stairway, which meant i heard every noise as people walked up to their room.

The room was dark, chipped plaster falling off the wall by the bed,old furniture inkeeping with the character, but old chipped and broken.
carpets old and worn. Single beds comfortable enough but did not sleep well.

would i come back? NO over priced and dated accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank penny5371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldAdelaide, Manager at Adelaide Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at the Quality Hotel Old Adelaide.

We are continually striving to improve the overall quality of our services and facilities to ensure we're keeping pace with the changing needs and expectations of our guests.
I am sorry to hear about the experience you had in our hotel, I would like to assure you I have shared your feedback with all of my staff and managers.

We are currently undergoing a program of refurbishment throughout the hotel unfortunately your room was one yet to be renovated.

Once again, we thank you for your comments as they are invaluable to us in assisting the property in our goal to exceed all guest expectations.

Warmest Regards

Danielle Thomas

Assistant Manager
QUALITY HOTEL OLD ADELAIDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Had to obtain accommodation at very short notice and selected the Old Adelaide Inn. The service desk were very obliging. Stayed for 3 nights and would be pleased to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hebburnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldAdelaide, Manager at Adelaide Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the feedback section of this site. It is always extremely pleasing to hear positive comments about our hotel. We greatly appreciate that you chose to stay with us at The Quality Hotel Old Adelaide

Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Danielle Thomas

Assistant Manager
QUALITY HOTEL OLD ADELAIDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The 4.5 star rating this place gets is false. I tried taking the issue up with the local star rating body(RAA) but they declined to answer my email. At BEST, this place is 3.5 star and to continue advertising claiming anything else is fraud. Paid $179 per night for the Executive Spa Suite, no breakfast or late checkout, just the room. Asked for a quiet room. Got a cave like room with a couple of old sofas, one had a big rip in the cushion with stuffing hanging out, clunky old fridge and dated fixtures and fittings. The room was dark, dreary and straight out of the 80's. It had a small balcony which was divided from the neighboring room by a cheap piece of trellis which was falling to bits. Two cheap plastic chairs, a glass ashtray and small table finished the experience off. Yuk. The neighbours ashtray was overflowing with butts, blowing onto our side and disgusting. The quiet room requested was situated at the top of a stairwell which meant that we enjoyed everyones night out as they clacked up the stairs. Thank God for the Adelaide Airport curfew because our room was right under the flight path and the planes stopped around 1030pm'(however, they get going real early). The road noise from OConnell Street couldn't be blocked out by the air conditioner. The room had a door in the wall which presumably was for interconnecting with the next room. The light filtering under the door at night was annoying and had to be blocked out with bags. The old guy staying there was a heavy smoker which meant that when he wasn't on the balcony smoking, he was hacking and wheezing away in his room. The smoke from his balcony came into our room . Had to laugh at the 'Linda' brand plastic kettle which was coloured in white and speckled grey. We remembered buying one for our first house nearly 30 years ago and how the hotel kept this gem working was beyond us. They were a $10 kettle back then and I reckon this one is from a garage sale somewhere. Surely, they can't be still in the shops(Cunninghams Warehouse or similar) The TV remote was hard to fathom and was held together by a rubber band. Despite boasting an Eco sticker, the shower head leaked water. It was a water saver head which gave the worst shower. The shower was over the spa bath which all seemed pretty stupid really, given that on one hand they were trying to save on water with a shower that leaked but underneath was a spa which gobbles through water. Couldn't fill the spa anyway because the hot water ran out. Lights in the main room flickered and ended up turning them off due to the annoyance. Staff that booked us in was indifferent and answered the phone half way through our book in leaving us to twiddle our thumbs. Offered to help us with our bags which I declined. Don't really know how he would have managed it anyway, given that he was there by himself. We didn't like this place at all, it ruined our weekend and we left early. We were too tired and annoyed to speak to the hotel about our experience as we left and judging by the attitude of the staff member who booked us out, they wouldn't have cared. It was obviously a common occurrence and his only parting words were that we wouldn't get our money back. Thats fine, they can keep it and use it to buy some more equipment from garage sales to stock their rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank croweater66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldAdelaide, General Manager at Adelaide Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at the Quality Hotel Old Adelaide.

We are continually striving to improve the overall quality of our services and facilities to ensure we're keeping pace with the changing needs and expectations of our guests.
I am sorry to hear about the experience you had in our hotel, I would like to assure you I have shared your feedback with all of my staff and managers.

We are currently undergoing a program of refurbishment throughout the hotel unfortunately your room was one yet to be renovated.

Once again, we thank you for your comments as they are invaluable to us in assisting the property in our goal to exceed all guest expectations.

Warmest Regards

Danielle Thomas
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We needed to stay in North Adelaide to visit friends for 3 days in Summer. We wanted to be close to our friends and have a pool in case it was hot. We weren't planning on spending much time at the hotel. So really chose it as it had a pool. It was certainly not a 5 star resort but the kids 7 & 10 had a ball in the pool. They swam every day and hardly anyone else used the pool. We all had fantastic sleeps, the beds seemed very comfortable. We were at the back of the hotel and certainly couldn't hear any traffic noise. The room had a tiny courtyard, which we would have used but it only had one plastic chair. I was very happy with the rate of $149.00 per night . The room had a single bed and a pull out single sofa bed for the kids. The tv was modern and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We got an excellent walk in rate thanks to being a Choices member. As we'd just had three lousy nights sleep in Marree and Lyndhurst, we asked for and got a room facing away from the main road. We walked to one of the very many nearby restaurants for dinner and made our own breakfast. The room was well equipped and nicely dark and quiet at night so we managed to recover much of our lost sleep.

The only negative was the price of internet access - when will hotels start realising that free access should be a standard hotel feature? Like others, we found a nearby cafe with free access.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.8 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Connell Inn
O'Connell Inn
#31 of 56 in Adelaide
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
1.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Tynte Street Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Inn

Address: 160 O'Connell St | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Old Adelaide)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £62 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location does not get much better than at the Adelaide Inn! Everything you would ever want at your doorstep. Shopping, dining, a cinema, fitness centre, golf course, jogging tracks, bars; you name it, O’Connell St has it…and the Adelaide Inn is right in the midst of it. Only 1.5km from Adelaide CBD, within walking distance of the newly renovated and iconic Adelaide Oval, you will have everything at your fingertips whether travelling for work or for pleasure. Stay at the hotel during the cricket and during AFL games and park at the hotel, you can then walk to the Oval! The location will keep you wanting to return. With a range of newly decorated accommodation to suit all tastes, the Adelaide Inn exudes an elegance and charm that will make you feel warm, welcome and comfortable. The grandeur the hotel commands is unequivocal. The hotel offers Balcony Spa Suite’s and a Luxury Spa Suite, perfect for special occasions and relaxation. With two person corner spa baths and balconies, the Adelaide Inn has something for you to enjoy. Families are well catered for, with individual or interconnecting rooms available. Having an outdoor pool and heated jacuzzi with sauna means children will be entertained as well. The Adelaide Inn is also located very close to the Adelaide Aquatic Centre, which is perfect for entertaining the little ones. As well as being amongst some of Adelaide’s best cafes and restaurants, the hotel also offers an in-house restaurant which caters to in-house guests and the wider public. The Fox Bar & Grill, offers Modern Australian cuisine, and some of the best food that North Adelaide has to offer. With beautiful surroundings you can dine ‘under the vines’, or overlooking the pool. Enjoy a family dinner; catch up with friends; or a romantic dinner with your plus one. You will not be disappointed. Lastly, but not finally, the Adelaide Inn offers private function spaces for hire. Catering for small to large conferences, corporate events, birthday parties, breakfast seminars and cocktail parties, there will be a space to suit your needs. The Adelaide Inn is one of Adelaide’s most popular wedding venues. With the ability to hold your wedding ceremony and wedding reception, you can choose to hold your wedding upstairs in the ‘Wakefield Room’ where you can make your grand entrance via the grand foyer staircase; or, hire the Snooty Fox and allow your guests to filter out to the pool area throughout your reception. The choice is yours! If you have not been convinced that the Adelaide Inn offers all that you will need for your corporate or leisure vacation, then please visit us. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adelaide Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn North Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing