We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy Wife, Unhappy life !!”
Review of Adelaide Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adelaide Inn
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Good Things : good dining restaurants nearby with wide range of cuisine. Good cinema nearby. Good proximity to city and cricket? Might be OK at it's lower price range but could make improvements

Dodge: Need to lug bags up stairs to first floor. Room bit old and tired, not the view of a " business Room" we had on our booking and not like the internet photos. Blinds on windows (ugly ones) did not block all light, suggest get curtains. Bath small and cannot open bathroom door fully. Seemed to be in morning flight path of airport which may irritate some. Poor soundproofing of room main door such that all corridor conversations heard. Furniture old and tired

Very Dodge. Price was jacked up to $299 per night because of busy season. Don't mind paying for quality but it was unhappy wife, unhappy life for me. Might be adequately valued at the "average" value quoted on the Trip Advisor site

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have stayed at the Old Adelaide Inn on 3 occasions. Each time has been for business purposes. The building is a stunning example of old world architecture, the rooms are comfortable and clean with nice modern fittings. The walk ways to the rooms are set out with well cared for gardens, something I have not seen in many hotels.

The location is perfect being close to many restaurants, shops and a cinema. There is even a supermarket across the road.

The cuisine in the restaurant was first class, I decided to entertain some clients from overseas and it could not have been any better. The staff were very efficient and their knowledge of the dishes was perfect. The wine list covered many South Australian and other Australian varieties.

We also decided to use the hotels conference facilities. The hotel has 3 areas catering for all sizes of groups. We chose the Board Room which suited our needs. Danielle, the Function Co-ordinator, was very helpful and understood our needs in every way. Some of my associates have since used the facilities on a number of occasions.

I also enjoyed the Pool and Spa which was perfect to relax after a long day of meetings.

I will continue to use and recommend the Old Adelaide Inn to colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikey-st1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldAdelaide, Manager at Adelaide Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Mikey

Thank you for your feedback and review regarding your 'great' stay at the Quality Hotel Old Adelaide.

We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to extending a warm and caring welcome back to you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Danielle Thomas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I've stayed here 3 times now for business and each time it's just been so easy thanks to the staff.

On the negative side is having to lug around my own bags which is inconvenient and a bit cumbersome when you have to walk outside, around a corner and up a flight of stairs (bumping into other guests doing the same thing!). It's a bit much to spend to be lugging around your gear down alleyways like a backpacker!

But that's the only complaint can make about Old Adelaide. Staff are incredibly warm and attentive, I always feel like they consider me as a person not just one more faceless guest. Incredibly helpful, chatty and lovely.

The breakfasts here are very nice, I particularly like their take on a bircher muesli which is packed with nuts and berries. Lovely. The bar also is cosy and has a very old-worlde atmosphere with suitably dark lighting and classic design. The drinks at the bar are excellent as well, a confident wine list is much appreciated at the end of a long day, and I like the look of the dinner menu but haven't eaten dinner there yet.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable, there is no big wow factor, just quality furniture and lovely big beds to sink into. The rooms are very large and I often find a stack of genuine magazines (ie not the boring tourist mags) which is such a tiny thing but I always love reading a trashy mag at the end of the day!

The bathrooms are serviceable, in very good condition and not too old or unattractive. The water pressure's quite good and the room is quickly able to be heated or cooled to a comfortable temperature.

I will continue to stay here every time I'm working in Adelaide, and look forward to the lovely service I enjoy every stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldAdelaide, Manager at Adelaide Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Teetles

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Quality Hotel Old Adelaide the team were delighted to receive such generous feedback from you and we were pleased you really enjoyed your stay.

Your comments are a great motivator to all the staffl who work tirelessly behind the scenes to deliver on our expectation of excellent guest service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thank you for your kind comments. They are much appreciated.

Warmest Regards

Danielle Thomas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed in the 'Quality Hotel Old Adelaide' and found the staff very off hand and we were dissappointed. Im very fussy with service excellence so should have taken note of the gentleman who took my initial booking for the accommodation as it was very unprofessional. I run 4.5star properties and I would not have survived if I had this off hand attitude on the phone or towards my guests. On a brighter note the room was beautifully clean and certainly very comfortable. On leaving the hotel after our three night stay we found again the staff at the desk very uninterested and certainly not friendly. How sad, as it really could be excellent especially is such a lovely part of Adelaide. So to the owner :please get some younger, more enthusiastic staff . Perhaps some graduates or students training from hospitality. We stayed at the Sebel in Adelaide last week for a couple of nights and wow the service there is excellent. Perhaps go down or send your older staff members down to get some tips on making guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FletcherSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I arrived at the Old Adelaide after flying all night from the Northern Territory. Delighted to say that a room was arranged immediately even though it was only 7 am . Wonderful old fashioned hospitality. Yes the Old Adelaide is an older establishment but i found it very nostalgic and spotlessly clean. Also everything is in walking distance , great selection of cafes, restaurants and even the Piccadilly cinema on the corner.
Would recommend and yes I would stay here again .

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArafuraGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

the problem with this hotel is the rating given, hence expected more luxury. The twin business room was tucked away on the ground floor by the stairway, which meant i heard every noise as people walked up to their room.

The room was dark, chipped plaster falling off the wall by the bed,old furniture inkeeping with the character, but old chipped and broken.
carpets old and worn. Single beds comfortable enough but did not sleep well.

would i come back? NO over priced and dated accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank penny5371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldAdelaide, Manager at Adelaide Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at the Quality Hotel Old Adelaide.

We are continually striving to improve the overall quality of our services and facilities to ensure we're keeping pace with the changing needs and expectations of our guests.
I am sorry to hear about the experience you had in our hotel, I would like to assure you I have shared your feedback with all of my staff and managers.

We are currently undergoing a program of refurbishment throughout the hotel unfortunately your room was one yet to be renovated.

Once again, we thank you for your comments as they are invaluable to us in assisting the property in our goal to exceed all guest expectations.

Warmest Regards

Danielle Thomas

Assistant Manager
QUALITY HOTEL OLD ADELAIDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Had to obtain accommodation at very short notice and selected the Old Adelaide Inn. The service desk were very obliging. Stayed for 3 nights and would be pleased to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hebburnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldAdelaide, Manager at Adelaide Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the feedback section of this site. It is always extremely pleasing to hear positive comments about our hotel. We greatly appreciate that you chose to stay with us at The Quality Hotel Old Adelaide

Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards

Danielle Thomas

Assistant Manager
QUALITY HOTEL OLD ADELAIDE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
1.9 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
O'Connell Inn
O'Connell Inn
#33 of 56 in Adelaide
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Tynte Street Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Inn

Address: 160 O'Connell St | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Old Adelaide)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £63 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location does not get much better than at the Adelaide Inn! Everything you would ever want at your doorstep. Shopping, dining, a cinema, fitness centre, golf course, jogging tracks, bars; you name it, O’Connell St has it…and the Adelaide Inn is right in the midst of it. Only 1.5km from Adelaide CBD, within walking distance of the newly renovated and iconic Adelaide Oval, you will have everything at your fingertips whether travelling for work or for pleasure. Stay at the hotel during the cricket and during AFL games and park at the hotel, you can then walk to the Oval! The location will keep you wanting to return. With a range of newly decorated accommodation to suit all tastes, the Adelaide Inn exudes an elegance and charm that will make you feel warm, welcome and comfortable. The grandeur the hotel commands is unequivocal. The hotel offers Balcony Spa Suite’s and a Luxury Spa Suite, perfect for special occasions and relaxation. With two person corner spa baths and balconies, the Adelaide Inn has something for you to enjoy. Families are well catered for, with individual or interconnecting rooms available. Having an outdoor pool and heated jacuzzi with sauna means children will be entertained as well. The Adelaide Inn is also located very close to the Adelaide Aquatic Centre, which is perfect for entertaining the little ones. As well as being amongst some of Adelaide’s best cafes and restaurants, the hotel also offers an in-house restaurant which caters to in-house guests and the wider public. The Fox Bar & Grill, offers Modern Australian cuisine, and some of the best food that North Adelaide has to offer. With beautiful surroundings you can dine ‘under the vines’, or overlooking the pool. Enjoy a family dinner; catch up with friends; or a romantic dinner with your plus one. You will not be disappointed. Lastly, but not finally, the Adelaide Inn offers private function spaces for hire. Catering for small to large conferences, corporate events, birthday parties, breakfast seminars and cocktail parties, there will be a space to suit your needs. The Adelaide Inn is one of Adelaide’s most popular wedding venues. With the ability to hold your wedding ceremony and wedding reception, you can choose to hold your wedding upstairs in the ‘Wakefield Room’ where you can make your grand entrance via the grand foyer staircase; or, hire the Snooty Fox and allow your guests to filter out to the pool area throughout your reception. The choice is yours! If you have not been convinced that the Adelaide Inn offers all that you will need for your corporate or leisure vacation, then please visit us. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adelaide Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn North Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing