We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed so uncomfortable felt like I was sleeping on the floor...”
Review of Adelaide Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adelaide Inn
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Bed so uncomfortable felt like I was sleeping on the floor...”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The mattress was very hard - I mean torturous
Had trouble lugging my bag down the stairs upon checkout - no lift available
Felt unsafe as a single female because of secluded location of room detached from the main building.
Doors banged in nearby rooms overnight
Jet planes flew overhead.
Breakfast/meals very expensive
Stayed there for four nights on business and hardly got any sleep.
On the other hand the location is good, shower worked well, staff were helpful when asked and the room was clean. I don't care about the dated decor - must about the mattress quality.

Room Tip: Find one with a softer mattress or bring your own egg shell overlay to prevent pressure sore develop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    106
    61
    16
    12
See reviews for
42
85
23
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

When we arrived our room wasn't ready but were immediately upgraded to a lovely large room, so no complaints. This is a lovely looking hotel from the outside and the rooms didn't disappoint. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were warned that the car park can be full in the evenings at weekends but we didn't have a problem when we were there. Has it's own pool but too chilly for us. The location is great, on the main road, near the cinema, coffee bars and restaurants. We told the staff we were returning in a couple of weeks and they even gave us the same (upgraded) room. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the restaurant. Would definitely book again if we get back to Adelaide.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Great location in North Adelaide right on the cafe strip. The hotel is well maintained and the rooms quite spacious. Staff were friendly. Arrived at 11pm, however, and no food to be found: the information pack in the room had an after-hours menu but was informed that was no longer available. The lady at reception suggested the service station at the corner (not really what I wanted after a 5 hour journey)! Fortunately, the lady at the Thai place across the road too sympathy and quickly knocked something up for me, despite them being closed!

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ynperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here overnight after my friends wedding. The room was dated and there were 2 black hairs in the bathtub. I overlooked this. In the morning when it came to breakfast the continental breakfast on offer was really average so we decided to order off the menu. 20 minutes after ordering I was informed that what I ordered was not on the menu on weekends... in the end we waited 45 minutes for the meal and it was cold and I was informed by the waitress it was missing one of the ingredients. (not the waitresses fault) The coffees we received weren't even filled to the top. In the end I complained and we didn't pay for the breakfast but it still left a bad taste in my mouth. Especially given it was the night after my friends wedding!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Quality Hotel Old Adelaide over the March long weekend, when my fiancé and I got married. We had at least 15 rooms booked for family coming from interstate, all the booking was done via email and David was so obliging and helpful throughout the process. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms and even though it was a busy time in Adelaide the staff did their best to ensure each couple had a car park. Christian on reception was particularly lovely and willing to help out in anyway possible. Room service breakfast was huge, and delicious and there was no problem with me having extra girls in the room on my wedding day to do hair and makeup (many other hotels are very strict on no more than 2 extra guests per room). All out extended family and friends were pleased with their rooms and the service provided. We would all stay here again, without a doubt!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paigenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the Quality Hotel Old Adelaide for 3 nights this February while on a driving holiday. First off, there is ample room in the carpark. The rooms are large and clean. Ours had a spa bath in it, which my wife and I both used. They also have a coin operated washer and dryer there, alternatively a laundry service.

The concierge was always helpful, and from a location perspective, you have some great food right outside the door. Not to neglect the Snooty Fox restaurant which also can serve a decent bit of tucker.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raphec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

It was ok, there's no elevator which is kind of annoying lugging a suitcase up a flight of stairs. The concierge was not rude but not warm either. Rooms are old but clean and the bed was comfortable.
I wouldn't recommend the continental breakfast, very average. There are plenty of places on O'Connell St so go grab a bite elsewhere.
Overall it was just ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
O'Connell Inn
O'Connell Inn
#29 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Majestic Tynte Street Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Soho
Clarion Hotel Soho
#34 of 57 in Adelaide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Inn

Property: Adelaide Inn
Address: 160 O'Connell St | North Adelaide, Adelaide, South Australia 5006, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Old Adelaide)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location does not get much better than at the Adelaide Inn! Everything you would ever want at your doorstep. Shopping, dining, a cinema, fitness centre, golf course, jogging tracks, bars; you name it, O’Connell St has it…and the Adelaide Inn is right in the midst of it. Only 1.5km from Adelaide CBD, within walking distance of the newly renovated and iconic Adelaide Oval, you will have everything at your fingertips whether travelling for work or for pleasure. Stay at the hotel during the cricket and during AFL games and park at the hotel, you can then walk to the Oval! The location will keep you wanting to return. With a range of newly decorated accommodation to suit all tastes, the Adelaide Inn exudes an elegance and charm that will make you feel warm, welcome and comfortable. The grandeur the hotel commands is unequivocal. The hotel offers Balcony Spa Suite’s and a Luxury Spa Suite, perfect for special occasions and relaxation. With two person corner spa baths and balconies, the Adelaide Inn has something for you to enjoy. Families are well catered for, with individual or interconnecting rooms available. Having an outdoor pool and heated jacuzzi with sauna means children will be entertained as well. The Adelaide Inn is also located very close to the Adelaide Aquatic Centre, which is perfect for entertaining the little ones. As well as being amongst some of Adelaide’s best cafes and restaurants, the hotel also offers an in-house restaurant which caters to in-house guests and the wider public. The Fox Bar & Grill, offers Modern Australian cuisine, and some of the best food that North Adelaide has to offer. With beautiful surroundings you can dine ‘under the vines’, or overlooking the pool. Enjoy a family dinner; catch up with friends; or a romantic dinner with your plus one. You will not be disappointed. Lastly, but not finally, the Adelaide Inn offers private function spaces for hire. Catering for small to large conferences, corporate events, birthday parties, breakfast seminars and cocktail parties, there will be a space to suit your needs. The Adelaide Inn is one of Adelaide’s most popular wedding venues. With the ability to hold your wedding ceremony and wedding reception, you can choose to hold your wedding upstairs in the ‘Wakefield Room’ where you can make your grand entrance via the grand foyer staircase; or, hire the Snooty Fox and allow your guests to filter out to the pool area throughout your reception. The choice is yours! If you have not been convinced that the Adelaide Inn offers all that you will need for your corporate or leisure vacation, then please visit us. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adelaide Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn North Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing