We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Park for all ages???? I think NOT!!!”
Review of Bonython Park

Bonython Park
Ranked #61 of 205 things to do in Adelaide
Attraction details
Adelaide
1 review
“A Park for all ages???? I think NOT!!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We visited Bonython Park Playground Activity Hub today and could not of been more disappointed. The fact this park has been compared to Hazelwood Park astounds me. It is less than Toddler friendly!! A massive lake with no fencing, Play equipment with no shade or fencing. Our children aged 18mths, 26 months and 34months struggled getting up onto the high platforms to go down the slides. We walked past the upgraded area which was over run with school aged children and failed to see where the fun would be for our younger ones. Waste of time and effort.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Went there with my cousin & family, kids loved it even the big boys in there 40's loved the flying fox. Took a picnic had a walk round spent a good few hours there great to tire the children out. Fun for the whole family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alsfal1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Revitalised Parkland space with great playground”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

A new playground has just been built by that is suitable for babies, toddlers and even teenagers. Slippery dips, swings, seats that spin around, spider wed structures to climb, water running into a sandpit and even a flying fox. Its located between the Kiosk and the Canandian totem pole (which is worth a close look) and easily accessed from Port Road or the Linear Bikeway. The SAPOL Road Safety course is opening soon and will offer another activity for kids. The park also features a boating lake, an older style playground, lots of BBQs and picnic spaces along with amazing natural environment along the River Torrens.

Various large events traditionally held in this parkland space are being relocated, ensuring this park of the Adelaide City parkland remains accessible for families and different user groups throughout the year.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Roslyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bonython Park Playground”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

There has been a major upgrade of Bonython Park and the playground is top of the list for our grandchildren. There are more features here than in most playgrounds and the children were able to enjoy a wide variety of equipment without any supervision and we were able to sit close by under the shade of the beautiful trees. There were was a 25 metre flying fox, a huge net climbing dome, rocktopus mouse wheel, a water and sand feature which was a big hit with our grandchildren. It was easy to spend many hours here and the children were never bored, but it is a good idea to bring some food and drinks, but there is a kiosk there, and if the children play in the water bring some spare clothes although on a hot day they dried out quickly!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“spare time”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

have not been there for a while but it is a great venue and especially the special lake for remote controlled boats

Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonython Park also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Bonython Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing