We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky, fun and great food”
Review of Jah'z

Jah'z
Ranked #253 of 1,597 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$58
Cuisines: Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Funky, fun and great food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The chalkboard outside said, "big plates, big serves, great food, terrible service". How could we resist? Correct on all counts, but the last. Zoran, the host (and owner?) was a delight. We ate here two nights running, simply because the food was terrific and the conversations with Zoran such fun. We would have gone back for a third night, but alas, that was their day off.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very friendly and great value”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great chat with the owner who was so nice.
Good food and wine in an unpretentious environment.
Definitely worth a look.

Helpful?
Thank MatConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vero beach, fl
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“adorable owner”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Who couldn't do enough to please you. Charged 6 $ for a 10$ Proceso because it was opened. Poured a huge glass of red wine double the amount of other restaurants but the risotto pumpkin was uninspired. Still I want to support this place

Helpful?
Thank thefengshuilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Loved it...a very special place!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had walked past this restaurant a couple of times while visiting the Fringe and we both had felt a real draw to go there and try it out. The sign out the front had made us laugh and so we decided to give it a go...This is the kind of place that the owner's( Zoran I believe) passion for what he does shines through. Upon entering we felt very much at home and the warm and genuine welcome from the staff is something you don't easily find. The food was excellent ... I went for comfort food and had the Lamb Pie...it did not disappoint, my partner went for the Seafood Linguine and found it to be very tasty although he would have preferred a little more chilli. Unfortunately we were unable to stay for dessert as we had tickets to a fringe show so I guess we'll just have to go back to try that too...overall a lovely meal out with attentive staff and a dedicated and passionate owner. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stumbled on this place purely by chance having withdrawn cash from a nearby ATM!
What a find, the owner/host completes the experience. The food and wine are all locally produced and the price is reasonable. I had the pâté which was delicious, while the others tucked into a huge plate of appetisers - all was amazing.
For a main I had pork belly with Savoy cabbage, the pork skin was crispy and the meat melt in the mouth. The cabbage was perfectly cooked with the sweetness of the balsamic vinegar.
The others we were dining with had the kangaroo and chicken kiev (not like any Kiev you would get in a super market) and all were raved about.
The creme brûlée for desert was also fabulous.
Overall it was probably the best meal we have had for ages and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jah'z also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Jah'z? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing