We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jah'z

Jah'z
Ranked #229 of 1,610 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$58
Cuisines: Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
South Aussie, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Started out a nice welcome and chat with staff. Entrees were nice and bread with flavoured butter tasty. We both had pork belly, mine was very burnt skin so I gad to return as all you could taste was charcoal, we wanted crispy skin but this was beyond, my husband had finished his main by the time my new pork belly ( again very dark not crispy skin) came out. I requested my husband order a dessert on the house so we could at least eat something together. We were now getting ignored by the once friendly staff...I think a dessert on the house, requested not even offered is least that could have been done. After we'd finished and paid the bill and left, we noticed the amount we had been charged wasn't correct, prices of items had been increased by various amounts from$0.10-$3.50 , different from prices on menu....leading to me believing this was a deliberate act to cover our "free" dessert....since when can you round up the prices of things or blatantly over charge, I work in the industry and this was bad form which leaves a bad taste

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Courts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Funky, fun and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

The chalkboard outside said, "big plates, big serves, great food, terrible service". How could we resist? Correct on all counts, but the last. Zoran, the host (and owner?) was a delight. We ate here two nights running, simply because the food was terrific and the conversations with Zoran such fun. We would have gone back for a third night, but alas, that was their day off.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very friendly and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great chat with the owner who was so nice.
Good food and wine in an unpretentious environment.
Definitely worth a look.

Helpful?
Thank MatConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vero beach, fl
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“adorable owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Who couldn't do enough to please you. Charged 6 $ for a 10$ Proceso because it was opened. Poured a huge glass of red wine double the amount of other restaurants but the risotto pumpkin was uninspired. Still I want to support this place

Helpful?
Thank thefengshuilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Loved it...a very special place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had walked past this restaurant a couple of times while visiting the Fringe and we both had felt a real draw to go there and try it out. The sign out the front had made us laugh and so we decided to give it a go...This is the kind of place that the owner's( Zoran I believe) passion for what he does shines through. Upon entering we felt very much at home and the warm and genuine welcome from the staff is something you don't easily find. The food was excellent ... I went for comfort food and had the Lamb Pie...it did not disappoint, my partner went for the Seafood Linguine and found it to be very tasty although he would have preferred a little more chilli. Unfortunately we were unable to stay for dessert as we had tickets to a fringe show so I guess we'll just have to go back to try that too...overall a lovely meal out with attentive staff and a dedicated and passionate owner. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jah'z also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Jah'z? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing