We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful night”

Georges on Waymouth
Ranked #9 of 1,603 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$29
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Georges on Waymouth was established by George & Voula Kasimatis in November 2002, with the aim of serving fresh seasonal produce with impeccable service in a classic European setting.In the heart of Adelaide's CBD, Georges on Waymouth is an undeniable crowd pleaser, continually striving for excellence amongst locals and interstate guests. The dining room is stylish and minimalist with crisp linen tablecloths, high ceilings and wooden floorboards. A distinctly Mediterranean menu takes advantage of seasonal fare with beautiful delights such as Jerusalem artichoke veloute, artichoke skins, wild mushrooms, beurre noisette. Tortellini of osso-buco, green olive gremolata, grana padano, krispy kale. Our signature dish Lamb Press, pancetta, mustard fruits, caramelised cauliflower, grilled sprouts, black sherry. Chocolate fondant, mandarin ice cream, cardamom tuile - sensational! Awards-Restaurant & Catering SA Awards For Excellence Winner 'best informal restaurant' 2004 & 2006 Winner 'employee of the year' 2005 Winner 'maitre d' of the year' 2007 Winner 'best European restaurant' 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015. The Advertiser/Adelaide Food Awards Winner 'best CBD lunch' 2006,2007, 2009, 2015. Monday 7.30am to 5pm. Tuesday - Friday 7.30am to late. Saturday 6pm to late. Private room available for corporate or social events!
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful night”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I went to georges with my wife for our anniversary and was left highly impressed and can't wait for our next visit! The food was exceptional and the service was excellent. Attention to detail and customer care are second to none. The bar has been raised!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyboyo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    191
    41
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Exceptional Service”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We took a work associate out for dinner to George's and we were all amazed at the quality of the food and the excellent service we were provided. The pork belly was to die for and our guest raved about the fish of the day. Highly recommended. Thank you for making a great impression on our guest!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingFamilyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very underwhelming!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Took a friend here for lunch today. in short the service was dreadful and food nothing stunning. had to wait ages just to have anyone come near us and acknowledge us let alone get a drink. so over priced. had to ask for menus and drinks menu. had to ask for bread!! Food finally arrived and was so salty. Interestingly the waiter told us as he put our food down that the chef had seasoned it well. I have never heard this! Maybe that should have been a hint. it was so over salted! Very disappointing as this was supposed to be a lovely lunch for a friends birthday....can't believe the reviews. very average, overpriced and I won't be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Monroe222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The food was very nice but pricey for what you get. Main at $42 and you needed to order sides made it low $50's. Average wine list with many unknown wines making the choice difficult. Service was average as we had to ask 3 times to have our wine glasses filled.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the bench mark for good dining”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Adelaide is blessed with many great restaurants to suit every bank balance. At George's your going to need one in credit but it will be worth it. Impeccable service, an ever changing menu and a wine list that always provides surprises that work. Other places may occasionally offer more interesting dishes, better value wine or very occasionally service that better suits your mood. No one does it all together so seamlessly and so regularly that you come to expect a great meal on every visit here - dinner or lunch. George and his restaurant are an institution and rightly so - if you can find better think yourself very lucky and tell George - he'll want to figure out how they have done it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank not_yet_world_weary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Georges on Waymouth also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Georges on Waymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing