We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for aussie-mex”

Zapata's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #190 of 1,597 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$22
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“ok for aussie-mex”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We went for a celebration, and had previously visited about 10yrs ago. We got off to a rocky start as our booking was not there, but with a bit of juggling done we were eventually seated.We started with the Dips which were very nice and a good start. Mains were a let down. Food had an unappetizing appearance, one plate had a skin over the sauce. The Chilli Colorado did not have any hint of heat or spice at all. We were unable to mention this during the meal as no one came to check...the response when the plates were collected was that there was little chilli because most people preferred it mild!!
To their credit, they did take that meal off the bill..
This restaurant is quite reasonably priced, has friendly service & decor is terrific,but sadly we all felt a little underwhelmed with the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helsie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    62
    27
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very accommodating staff, great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The room had a great vibe to it. The staff were friendly. The food was amazing. We had a group of 7, everyone enjoyed their meal. Entrees and mains were ordered. Delicious. Will definitely eat here again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER!!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Was super keen for a mexican feast, was absolutely let down. Firstly upon making the booking was asked if I would be finished by 8 so not a good start. Was asked by 5 different staff whether we wanted to order drinks, took about 10mins to bring drinks out, I ordered the steak and enchilada meal (cant remember proper name) and my fiance orderd the enchilada grande, "grande" meant to be big?? I cannot explain the dissapontment as our food came out. Looked like a 5 year old made it, both meals were tiny and looked very average. Food had no taste and the "frijoles" is just half a tin of refried beans slopped onto your plate!! Tasteless, no spice or zing and the enchilada was just rubbish. They need to take the grande out of the enchilada grande because it was far from it. No one asked of we wanted more drinks and upon paying the owner i think it was was quite dismissive, no thanks for coming or how was your meal. Just 60 dollars pushing a order receipt at me. Overall it was horrible and a total waste of money!! Dont bother because its just awful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average Mexican”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Came here for dinner on our first night in Adelaide, busy restaurant , nice cocktails and average food . Quite surprised at the rave reviews as "the best Mexican " as apart from the attentive staff there was nothing special about this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I ate the El Bandido which was huge, and it tasted really good, the Margaritas where also good. Service was good, and there was quite a few Mexican beers to choose from too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stvnwtsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zapata's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Zapata's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing