We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location with really friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel
Reviewed 23 January 2011

just be there if you get to Adelaide :)
there are many staff who are willing to help every guests,
they will give you important and nice tip for travel !! :)
We can put our valuable belongings to secured closet, (don't forget to bring your own small lock for that ! )
There's a luggage room for free checking big luggages after check out for a while,
Rooms are clean, and tidy, I was able to sleep well every night. ( I think I got nice roommates luckily :)
kitchen and toilet and shower rooms are cleaned by staff everyday,
so I felt those are quite clean.
especially the kitchen was good enough to make my own food :)
they offer free bad linen and blanket, that's so nice service!
the balcony also is good for chilling out.!
able to meet many friends from all over the world !
about the location,
there're pubs around Shakepeare,
and it's in the city, so able to get many attractions by walking.
that's one of the best things here.
I surely recommend this hostel someone who will get to Adelaide.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2011

Shakespeare's is Ok - not brilliant. The Staff appeared friendly enough, although had to ask alot of questions. Security is very good here though and possibly the best about this hostel, also the toilets and bathrooms were clean. I would not say that this is a brilliant hostel at all. However, it is comfortable, although I did not like the bunk beds much. I do believe they should offer free towels and breakfast to their guests who have none of these items and staff are too hyper vigilant about throwing out food from fridges before guests leave the facility. Otherwise Ok.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

i arrived from Fiji in September, to fix my immigration status with the Embassy, in Adelaide,and stayed at this hostel for one week. having done that i decided to backpack with this girl whom i met from Estonia.Thanks to her, i learnt how to survive in this hostile world of australia and beat their hostil weather conditions, considering that i come from the beautiful island of Paradise, Fiji. Met a lot of Europeans along the way, some good and some not so good. a year later i went home and came back to Adelaide to resume my studies and 8months later i am still at the same hostel, where my life in Australia began. i have fond memories of my stay at this hostel, some not so good as believe me people tend to become jeolous when you become friends with them, guess that i have stayed at this hostel for too long, but the fact is strange people are every where you go, not one single country is spared!!!. in brief, what i would like to say is that since the purpose of my second trip to Adelaide was to resume my studies and make South Australia my home, i would say, yes it is a it frustrating to study from a hostel especially when rooms, etc sharing with a million people, but ive also learnt how to appreciate what little i have at my expanse.

i suppose what i am trying to say is that this hostel has made it possible to finish my studies, and as a result was able to secure a full time job in the area of my study. in addition to this, ive also received free legal advice, where one of the manager is a legal representative of the law by profession.
also, in my long stay at the hostel, since i work in a retail pharmacy, the principles of customer service is highly practised here. the management doesn't make me feel like they want my money. of course they do, but it doesn't feel like. ive stayed at other hostels in the city, customer service is crap and a scammmm.

very warm and friendly service, the guys at the reception just makes my day, when i am having a bad day, the beds are super comfortable, and the rooms are very cosy and homely, architecture and character, superb. i love everything thing about this hostel, the luxury and warmth that is provided by the hardworking management, i would rate this hostel, 9.5 out of 10. Hot water is available 24/7!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khusnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I have been a long term guest in this hostel. I chose it because of its city-centered location and it suits me very well as my work place is just 5 min away. Access to all kinds of facilities is relatively convenient, including washing machines, big kitchen, lounge area with a big plasma tv. Pubs, restaurants, shops, 24 hour convenient store are just around the corner. Foxtel TV is a plus. They serve alcohol as well. Staff are helpful and friendly and happy to guide you to nearby local bars and diners. Throughout the duration of stay the cleanliness is consistently maintained most of the time. Good place to interact with different travellers at a reasonably relaxed atmosphere. 24 hour camera surveillance and night time security staff on duty are what make me sleep well all time. Not perfect in every ways but good enough with a relatively low cost. Worth staying!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I have this oppertunity to stay over here, found this hostel quite a descent place to live, located in the heart of the city all the resturants, cafes, pubs & convenience stores are within 5 to 10 min walking distance more over the ade central bus station is one street before shakespears backpackers, very friendly & coperative staff, neat & tidy environment, web cam facility is something i really enjoyed .A fantabulous place to live at
reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I have been staying at shakespeare backpackers for about five months. I have enjoyed every day of it. Great staff good times nice people good balcony to sit down and have 1 drink that leads always to many. I would recommed for people to stay here and the location is the key. We are like one big family.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwichris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The location was great and the staff are amazingly helpful & friendly. This backpaker is perfectly located regarding Adelaide's transport facilities : 3m far from the airport pickup or the central bus station. It is a good place to lay your head down. Kithcen was very clean and has good facilities. Lots of seating area in lounge with big HD TV was good, showing movies. Comfy mattress and plenty of space in the room. Bathrooms were very clean compare to other hostels. I saw atleast they have trained cleaners who clean. 24hr staff. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and it was great. What more to say?

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nik2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0 mi away
Adelaide Central YHA
Adelaide Central YHA
#4 of 54 in Adelaide
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel 109 Flashpackers
Hostel 109 Flashpackers
#8 of 54 in Adelaide
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Guest House
The Guest House
#29 of 54 in Adelaide
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Backpack OZ
Backpack OZ
#12 of 54 in Adelaide
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
iStay Precinct
iStay Precinct
#5 of 54 in Adelaide
647 reviews
1.5 mi away
Princes Lodge Motel
Princes Lodge Motel
#34 of 56 in Adelaide
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel

Address: 123 Waymouth St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range: £13 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To all Backpackers and Travelers in Oz: Need a Hostel? Are you full of Youth? Prefer to live like the Nomads? Then Base yourself in Central Adelaide. "Adelaide's Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel" is a lovely old style Victorian building, it retains old charm and ambiance from a bygone era. Located in the heart of the backpacker precinct, very close to all the opportunities and tourist hotspots Adelaide has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adelaide’s Shakespeare Backpackers International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing