We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet for couples, bit dull.”
Review of The Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Guest House
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stopped in the backpack oz previously and came back after a tour into the flinders ranges, unfortunately, because how the booking had gone through on booking.com, S if we were two sperate bookings, we were in separate rooms, luckily Sam immediately sorted it out for us and put us in a double room in the guest house, just down the road. It looks a little empty from the outside and when you go in, it's much quieter than the backpack oz. The room was nice, bed comfy, we had our own TV only 7 Channels, sink and hanging rail. The bathrooms were nicer and more p to date than in backpack oz and so was the kitchen, outside are and laundry rooms. Obviously you pay a little extra for the guest house, so you get a better breakfast for longer and better facilities. The upstairs roof is lovely in an evening, though no one really goes up there, I think I would be nap better space for backpack oz, though there's no bar, which wouldn't be appropriate in the guest house. The security here's a little better. It's just very quiet, but obviously you can head over to backpack oz, just over the road. They have no wifi in the guest house but can use it in backpack oz. so a bit more up to date then backpack oz, but lacking a common room, but I guess the clientele using the guest house would t appreciate one.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the street off the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed at 6 beds female dorm in The Guest House for 4 nights. The room was clean and tidy. Comfortable mattress and sheets. Free breakfast from very early to almost 10 am and the kitchen is very clean. Free WIFI at the reception area in Backpacker OZ which is opposite the Guest House. Although near the street, it wasn't noisy at night at all. And it's near the police station, which makes me feel much safer, LOL. Booking the tour to Barossa Valley here as well, and get an ice-cream!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Excellent, friendly, efficient staff. Neat and simple, but I felt safe and comfortable. Very clean.

They accommodated my request to not be on the ground floor without fuss (I am a single, female traveller).

They need to buy some new pillows though!

Adelaide is pretty small, so I walked everywhere no problem.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 2nd floor, at the back. It was probably quieter than the front ones on the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sssshhhh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Pros: quiet, all private rooms & you can walk across the road to the main hostel to drink & socialise. Auto aircon, a sink & clothes rack in room.
Cons: no close supermarket; bad pillows; walking across the road for reception & breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notjanedoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Agreeing with the above: the hostel looked pretty clean (definitely as some AU hostels go), the people staying at the guest house were nice (not often met any that weren't), and the hostel itself was pretty quiet.

However, there is the road outside that is very busy, and thus if you want fresh air you get fumes and there is no avoiding the noise. One important note is this: I believe there are bed-bugs. I woke halfway through the night itching and discovered bites on my back. The next morning there were some more. After mentioning at reception, instant note was taken of it and apparently they checked but could not find anything. I do not how they checked, but I believe it to be severely hard to 'see' them (they are max 5 mm big and can easily crawl into duvets/mattresses/pillows)... So if you are going to stay here, keep an eye open and report any strange bites immediately!

About the people behind the desk: I am not entirely sure how 'nice' they are. I have a little suspicion they are nice, but not anywhere near generous. They said I had one of the last beds in the hostel (choice between an expensive single or one in a 12 bed dorm at the Backpack Oz) when I went in to ask if they had any beds. After some hesitation I decided to go for a quieter night and chose the first, which turned out to be a family room. They could easily have turned it into a 3 bed dorm but only were open to this suggestion after I had paid for the whole room.

All in all, an expensive set of bites.

(PS no idea what people are on about being excited by the breakfast. A cheap slice of bread with cheap marg, jam or vegemite. Nothing special or out of the ordinary for a hostel!)

Room Tip: Go for one at the back (8, 9 or 10 I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

This was my first experience of a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised. On arrival I entered the large kitchen area which was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Tea and coffee was freely available so it was easy to chat to the other guests over a cuppa. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm which although wasn't huge had all the basic requirements. Clean linen was provided for the beds and I had a really good night's sleep. Showers and toilets were also very clean and there seemed to be no queues for the showers when I was using them. The atmosphere was friendly with people happy to chat to each other, but it was a fairly quiet place in general, something which I had specifically chosen it for. For people wanting more "action", the nearby Backpack Oz had a bar, internet and various other forms of entertainment which could be used. Location-wise, it was a bit of a walk to the shopping area and other things to see in the city, but it wasn't too far and certainly didn't detract from the overall experience. It was easy to get to from the airport using the public bus service. All in all, a very good value and comfortable night's sleep and I would definitely recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WoodEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 73,054,900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree Director's Studios
0.2 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.0 mi away
Backpack OZ
Backpack OZ
#12 of 54 in Adelaide
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adelaide Central YHA
Adelaide Central YHA
#4 of 54 in Adelaide
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest House

Address: 134 Wakefield St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Adelaide
Price Range: £31 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing