We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation in Coober Pedy”
Review of Mud Hut Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mud Hut Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation in Coober Pedy”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We just spent three days in Coober Pedy and stayed at the Mud Hut Motel (above ground accommodation). The Motel Manager (Andrew) was understanding, welcoming and helpful from the minute we drove in and made our stay even more enjoyable. The Motel itself is very attractive and very "Australian Outback" in style. The rooms are exceptionally clean and well presented - we had four adults in a self-contained two bedroom apartment which was perfect in every way. It is in a great location at the top of town, with supermarkets, restaurants, pubs and underground sightseeing within easy walking distance. This Motel was way above any of our expectations and is really worthwhile accommodation.

Room Tip: Two-bedroom self-contained apartment for a family or two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSmith851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    96
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
88
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have stayed at this place twice in the past year. Coober Pedy, for the uninitiated, is one of the most remote places on earth. Yet, the Mud Hut Motel is far from remote insofar as comfort and facilities are concerned.

After a VERY long day behind the wheel, you are welcomed by family friendly folk, who are very happy to attend to your every need. Our room had a tree branch rubbing against the back wall and window of our unit. As soon as we mentioned this to the proprietor, he was immediatly at our door, letting us know that he would cut the offending branch off. All this on a Sunday night. You don't get attention like that at city establishments. There is a modest restaurant located on the premises, but we did not utilise it. Car parking was adequate. The rooms were very tidy and clean (I still don't know how they keep the red dust out).

We have stayed at many location in CP over the years, but this is the best value for money for family accommodation.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodyinthemiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We think the Mud Hut Motel is a very comfortable motel. It is clean, very spacy with perfect WIFI.Very friendly personnel at the desk and in the kitchen. We had a great breakfast. We only stayed 1 night but it was worthwhile. Peggy and Robert, Amsterdam Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

When traveling from Alice Springs to Adelaide stayed the night here. Rooms are clean, air conditioned and comfortable. Great choice if you don't wish to stay underground. Even in 46 degree heat they are very cool.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Recently stopped here for the second time, this time with dog in toe. Had booked ahead (recommend if travelling with dog as there were several others on site) and got a great room with a side area for the dog on the back of the premises. Having stayed here once before i knew we would get a really good sized room with great facilities, really clean and neat. You feel really tucked away here and very secure. Wont even try anywhere else from now on. It even helped to convince my partner that Coober Pedy isnt so bad afterall.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Run by friendly people and always clean and comfortable. They offer a well priced breakfast with barista coffee. The rooms are rammed earth providing excellent insulation providing a stable temperature. I can highly recommend to the weary travellers and it has free WiFi. Always a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigmalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Coober Pedy is surely a place TO SEE...it is incredible in its absurdity! :)
The Mud Hut was a great place to arrive to, clean, spacious and quite. The reception manager was just so nice, he definitely went out of his way to make us feel home: he was funny, welcoming and very knowledgeable. We recommend it for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.2 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.1 mi away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
0.1 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mud Hut Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mud Hut Motel

Property: Mud Hut Motel
Address: St Nicholas St | PO Box 219, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mud Hut Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mud Hut Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing