We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate, book!”
Review of Mud Hut Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mud Hut Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

After a long, tiring drive we arrived at the Mud Hut Motel to be greeted by Andrew at reception. Andrew, you are a delight and knew not to give me an overload of information on the first night, I was too tired to even register what you were saying. We stayed in a 2 bedroom family self contained room. Very clean, lovely beds, soft towels and the rooms very quiet and dark which allowed us to get a great sleep in! After days out sightseeing, coming back to the rooms with beds made and dishes washed was fantastic - thank you. Andrew you have given us a wealth of information for family friendly things to do and see in Coober Pedy and for that we are grateful.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannonLeigh1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

I really liked this motel. Comfy, friendly, nice spacious rooms, good location and free wireless. Cheaper than the opal inn, and a much nicer feel.... I'd definitely stay again. It's also walking distance to Tom and Mary's Greek restaurant which has great calamari!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Exhausted from a huge drive along the OonadattaTrack mt two daughters & I decided to stay in a Motel instead of camping in Coober Pedy. I called ahead to book (lucky because it was booked out by the time we arrived!). From the moment we walked into reception the whole Mud Hut experience was fantastic. Andrew was so friendly and helpful; it really put a smile on our faces. The rooms were clean, neat, attractive, quiet and really quite large. We will never choose to stay anywhere else in Coober Pedy. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Spen three weeks here with work. Comfy room with nice quiet mud walls keeping warm at night. Friendly courtyard to relax with friends. The staff could not have been more helpful to us, really putting themselves out. When taken all together, I'd say its the best or rather nicest place I've stayed, and I've been all over the world!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shepherdfte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We just spent three days in Coober Pedy and stayed at the Mud Hut Motel (above ground accommodation). The Motel Manager (Andrew) was understanding, welcoming and helpful from the minute we drove in and made our stay even more enjoyable. The Motel itself is very attractive and very "Australian Outback" in style. The rooms are exceptionally clean and well presented - we had four adults in a self-contained two bedroom apartment which was perfect in every way. It is in a great location at the top of town, with supermarkets, restaurants, pubs and underground sightseeing within easy walking distance. This Motel was way above any of our expectations and is really worthwhile accommodation.

Room Tip: Two-bedroom self-contained apartment for a family or two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSmith851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have stayed at this place twice in the past year. Coober Pedy, for the uninitiated, is one of the most remote places on earth. Yet, the Mud Hut Motel is far from remote insofar as comfort and facilities are concerned.

After a VERY long day behind the wheel, you are welcomed by family friendly folk, who are very happy to attend to your every need. Our room had a tree branch rubbing against the back wall and window of our unit. As soon as we mentioned this to the proprietor, he was immediatly at our door, letting us know that he would cut the offending branch off. All this on a Sunday night. You don't get attention like that at city establishments. There is a modest restaurant located on the premises, but we did not utilise it. Car parking was adequate. The rooms were very tidy and clean (I still don't know how they keep the red dust out).

We have stayed at many location in CP over the years, but this is the best value for money for family accommodation.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodyinthemiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We think the Mud Hut Motel is a very comfortable motel. It is clean, very spacy with perfect WIFI.Very friendly personnel at the desk and in the kitchen. We had a great breakfast. We only stayed 1 night but it was worthwhile. Peggy and Robert, Amsterdam Netherlands

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.2 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mud Hut Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mud Hut Motel

Address: St Nicholas St | PO Box 219, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £74 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mud Hut Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mud Hut Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing