We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Coober Pedy`s Erth!”
Review of Down to Erth B &B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Down to Erth B &B
Ranked #2 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on Coober Pedy`s Erth!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

You have got to stay here - at least for three nights! My husband and I would have loved to stay even longer ... Rose and Alex made us feel at ease and this Easter weekend a very special one. If you want to explore Coober Pedy and its surrounds, see the amazing golf course, explore the cemetary ("Boot Hill"), the roo orphanage, a working opal mine, the opal shops, the Breakaways ... this is home away from home! This spotlessly clean, cozy and more than well equipped underground apartment is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed at. Thank you Rose, thank you Alex. Hope to see you again, Stefanie & Thomas

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefE597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
groundgran15, Owner at Down to Erth B &B, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hi Stefanie & Thomas,
You really made the town bubble & people I come across that met you while you were staying mention you both with a smile.
Hope to see you sometime again in the future, what a loss to OZ you will be when you leave.
But nice for you to get home to rellies after years away.
I'm smiling typing this response . Rose & Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
125
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Our family of 5 really enjoyed our stay in the cosy cave at Down to Erth. Clean, comfortable and cool (outside temp was 42+!), it was a wonderful sanctuary from the heat of Coober Pedy.
At night we watched Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome on the DVD, which entertained our boys with scenes from The Breakaways and Coober Pedy - places that we had trekked around earlier that day.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Best B&B We've ever stayed in, we felt like at home. We spend a couple of days in Coober Pedy and really enjoyed our stay. The pool area was much appreciated after spending the majority of the day discovering a piece of the outback. We highly recommend this amazing undergroung apartment.Thank you Rose & Alex for the wonderful time

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon91tripwasfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We booked this because of such good reviews and are so happy we did!

The b and b is out of town and you do feel a little like you're on an industrial estate as there are trucks around and no people! But the house and b and b is fabulous.

You have the room to yourself and it is huge. great breakfast, great hosts who couldn't do enough for us.

we were a little creeped out about sleeping underground so slept with the light on!

Highly highly recommend watching Mad Max which they have on dvd when you get there and then go out on a tour with Arid Tours with Wayne and it will all make sense!

Room Tip: There is only one room and you have access to a pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Thank you to Rose and Alex for a very memorable Christmas. We stayed at 'Down to Erth' for 2 nights on or way up to Uluru and it is certainly one of the most unique properties we have ever stayed in. Rose and Alex have thought of everything and are fantastic hosts, going out of their way to make you feel at home. The christmas tree and decorations, breakfast, wine and lollies were all very much appreciated. "Can we have Christmas here again next year?" asked one of our children as we drove out of the drive-way, I think that says it all!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed in down the earth B&B in december during our road trip Uluru. Rose and Alex are the BEST host anyone could ask for; such genuinely lovely people. They were extremely welcoming right from the beginning, accommodation was beautifully prepared, and they also recommended really wonderful places to visit. We had the best time in Cooper Pedy and really enjoyed our two nights in this unique accommodation. Would recommend this place to everyone, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo11_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in December 2012 with my wife and her family visiting from China. Rose and Alex made us feel so welcome. They showed us through their new house and took the time to explain a little about opals and noodling for them. Our visitors were very impressed at how friendly Rose and Alex were. We highly recommend Down to Erth.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WWQPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
2.4 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down to Erth B &B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down to Erth B &B

Property: Down to Erth B &B
Address: Wedgetail Lot 1795 Crescent | P/O Box 142, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Down to Erth B &B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique underground Coober Pedy 2 bedroom apartment for a family or couple, accommodating up to 5 persons. Situated a quick 5 minute drive from the centre of town on the edge of the Coober Pedy Opal Fields. A plunge pool for cooling down in the warmer months and a choice of barbeque's,electric,gas or wood makes for relaxed living after a day exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Down to Erth B &B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing