We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Down to Erth B &B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Down to Erth B &B
Ranked #2 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We booked this accommodation looking forward to an underground living experience. As it turned out, we got much more than we bargained for. Both Rose and Alex were great hosts! The place was sparkling clean, spacious and modern. It's obvious that a lot of TLC was put into the place. Every details was attended to. The place has total privacy and a strong homely feel. The bonus was a bottle of welcoming wine and the high quality continental breakfast with Rose's home-made preserved fruit, yummy! I can easily stay there for a week! The only pity was we haven't had a chance to use the pool ( a small one for cooling down in front yard) as the weather was a bit cool. We absolutely highly recommend this place to anybody who wants to stay in Coober Pedy. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0nica627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
116
122
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Rose and Alex have the perfect mix of making sure you get the most out of your holiday while still providing you total privacy. All the little things like stocking the fridge to cater for breakfasts, to a welcome bottle of wine. Confirming the tour we'd booked, providing undercover parking and turning on the outside light when we went out to dinner to make it easier on our return.

The B&B is just the right distance out of town and the sunsets from the top of the driveway are magic. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escaping_the_ratrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Great stay, just a short drive out of town. Novel idea staying underground, first time i have ever done that. rose and Alex were very friendly staff and made great suggestions for the pizza place in town. Was nice and warm in the rooms when outside was cooling down overnight. Overall, Coober pedy wasn't the nicest town but a little gem in staying at down to erth!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taeboy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great underground experience. We read the reviews before we booked and we are glad to say they were spot on. Rose and Alex made us feel so welcome. A credit to both of them with the way the B&B has been set up. Very clean and really has all you need. Even though it was underground it felt very roomy. Fully stocked with breakfast from the first day. The pool is also a nice touch after a day out exploring. Will stay again as a family without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

For anyone this is is a fantastic experience. Rose and Alex were very helpful and welcoming. Sleeping underground was a new experience - very quiet and comfortable.

We would certainly stay here again and would recommend this to anyone stopping at Coober Pedy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

After travelling through Coober Pedy and only stopping for fuel nearly 20 years ago, we wanted to come back with our family and truly experience underground living. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcomed and special. Rose had the fridge fully stocked with eggs, bacon, home made goodies, milk and juice. There was a selection of cereals, coffee beans to freshly grind and chai tea to enjoy. A bottle of red and white wine, plus chocolates was also left for the adults to enjoy. I was very impressed by the attention to all the little details such as clothes washing powder, pegs, games, dvds, metal rods for toasting marshmallows over a wood fire BBQ etc. Down to Erth is a little oasis only a few minutes out of town and as a family we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Coober Pedy and at Down to Erth.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We recommend this for families and couples. Our stay was one of a kind, for experiencing under ground living. This underground B&B was a great experience for us all. Rose and Alec's hospitality was fantastic. They were both helpful in making sure we saw all the right attractions in Coober Pedy. And after a hot day the pool was always welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth1408299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
2.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.4 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down to Erth B &B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down to Erth B &B

Property: Down to Erth B &B
Address: Lot 1795 Wedgetail Crescent | P/O Box 142, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Down to Erth B &B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique underground Coober Pedy 2 bedroom apartment for a family or couple, accommodating up to 5 persons. Situated a quick 5 minute drive from the centre of town on the edge of the Coober Pedy Opal Fields. A plunge pool for cooling down in the warmer months and a choice of barbeque's,electric,gas or wood makes for relaxed living after a day exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Down to Erth B &B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing