We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Down to Erth B &B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Opal Inn(Coober Pedy)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Cave Hotel(Coober Pedy)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
302
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolwashing machinedown to earththought of everythingroad tripunderground livingmad maxunderground accommodationa wonderful place to stayin townkings canyonunique experienceunderground experiencefriendly hostsunderground homeunder groundthoroughly enjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This dug out was a real experience and worth the journey. The hospitality was outstanding, without being intrusive, the accommodation was of a high standard, probably more spacious than we expected, and we really enjoyed looking over Alex's project. We were busy every day of the 3 days we stayed and have to say that Wayne's tour was also a highlight. In all, we feel that we had had an authentic Coober Pedy experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sandtshaw268D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Thanks to Rose and Alex for a wonderful night. We loved staying underground and enjoyed the luxury of the apartment after 3 weeks outback camping. The apartment was spacious and built into and down inside a hill so had the wonderful temperature control of underground living without feeling like we were in a hole in the ground. And so lovely and quiet at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Webster_family2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Perfect place for a stay a night underground in Coober Pedy. Very friendly welcome, the accommodation is very spacious and comfortable and the pool is great. Directly located in the mining fields and just a short drive from the CP itself for dinner or other activities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yde e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have a wonderful stay at Down to Erth! On our Round the world tour it was one of the best experiences we have! After a hot day you can swim in the privat pool - that was great!!! We had a very warm welcome from Rose and Alex. The apartment was very clean and comfortable. Thank you very much! Anja, Martin and Leah Sophie from Germany

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Alex and Rose are a lovely couple willing to share there unusual home. It was the first time we had stayed underground and it was so quiet and relaxing, not claustrophobic at all. Rose went out of her way to make our stay as pleasant as possible even offering to have the outside fire going ready for our return after we had watched the amazing sunset at The Breakaways. All the little extra treats were unexpected but appreciated.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Raelene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews