We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Accommodation in Coober Pedy”
Review of Down to Erth B &B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Down to Erth B &B
Ranked #2 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
1 review
“Best Accommodation in Coober Pedy”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My wife, Judy and I stayed in Alex and Rose's wonderful underground B&B for 3 nights. Absolutely fantastically constructed and appointed place to stay. It is private, quiet, extremely comfortable. Guests will want for nothing.
Rose even arranged a flight over Lake Eyre for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastelopea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
119
126
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

After being in small cabins most of our trip this B&B was great. Being underground it was cool and quiet and very spacious and well furnished. The private pool and outdoor setting with bbq was great and Rose even went shopping for us to get a bbq pack before we arrived! Wine was in the fridge and all the little touches were well taken care of. One of the nicest B&B experiences I have had and to find it in the middle of nowhere (!!) was a blessing. It was hard to leave and hit the hot road again!

  • Liked — privacy and space
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coromandel, NZ
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We stayed at Down to Erth B&B while we were visiting Coober Pedy, Australia and loved it. We would have liked to stay here for our entire holiday.It was only 5 minutes out of town, very peaceful and unique. We stayed in this town specifically to experience "underground living".We got underground luxury. This B&B had it all, it was beautifully decorated and clean. It had own private bathroom and laundry facilities. Beautiful romantic setting, wine and chocolate waiting. Lovely deep bath, private pool (in the dessert!).Really lovely breakfast with loads of personal touches.Dvd on town history, local attractions, local eateries and menus.Ours hosts were lovely , friendly, helpful people willing to make our stay a memorable one.We (2 x adults,2 x children) paid $200 per night and it was worth every cent.This was one of only 2 places out of the eight we stayed at that had a seperate bedroom for the kids! Thats worth huge bonus points to me! We love our kids dearly, but this was our first overseas holiday together and I can't believe how many places are literally only offering a "room" to share and not much more!The second place came recommended by these lovely people who totally understood our joy to have our "own" room.We thank you both for a truly wonderful stay.I would recommend this location to anyone, particularly those looking for a romantic getaway as there is heaps of attention to detail here.

  • Liked — Seperate rooms for kids, romantic atmosphere
  • Disliked — Not enough time to stay longer
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corogirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

We spent a wonderful and unique night at Down to Erth Bed and Breakfast in Coober Pedy. It is a self contained, underground apartment hand built by the owners and is a sheer pleasure to stay in. The tariff is so reasonable with fantastic value for your money. Included is a continental breakfast and we were welcomed with a wonderful bottle of wine and a chocolates! There is a wonderful private plunge pool and a fantastic bbq and seating area. You can even use the telescope to view the stars in the evening!
It is perfect for couples and for families with a kitchenette, large lounge room, bathroom, kids bedroom and a queensize bedroom.
Thank you for creating this wonderful escape so we can all experience the unique underground life.

  • Liked — It was so unique and beautiful
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HoggieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
2.4 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
183 reviews
2.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
357 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down to Erth B &B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down to Erth B &B

Property: Down to Erth B &B
Address: Wedgetail Lot 1795 Crescent | P/O Box 142, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Down to Erth B &B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique underground Coober Pedy 2 bedroom apartment for a family or couple, accommodating up to 5 persons. Situated a quick 5 minute drive from the centre of town on the edge of the Coober Pedy Opal Fields. A plunge pool for cooling down in the warmer months and a choice of barbeque's,electric,gas or wood makes for relaxed living after a day exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Down to Erth B &B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing