We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Aussie hospitality, fantastic unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Down to Erth B &B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Down to Erth B &B
Ranked #2 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“True Aussie hospitality, fantastic unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

I wanted my family to experience living 'underground' on our road trip up to Alice Springs, boy did we get that and more!!! The accommodation was spotless, well thought out, very inviting and homely, just what we needed. The only problem we had was we only had 1 night there. We could have stayed a week!! The hosts were terrific, allowing us total privacy, with the knowledge that they were right there if we needed anything. I would definately recommend this B&B to anyone that will listen!!! A great experience, very reasonable price. Would stay again in a heartbeat.....if it weren't so far away!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holdenmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
118
124
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

I based my selection of the Down to Erth B&B on other Tripadvisor reviews and was not at all disappointed. The underground accommodation was excellent and the hosts Rose & Alex were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our 2 night stay was definitely memorable. We highly reccommend this B&B.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graceb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at Down to Erth for one night and really liked it. Our 3 year old daughter loved the two dogs and we all enjoyed a swim in the pool. Rose and Alex are very welcoming hosts! Joost, Inge and Mia, Melbourne

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joostoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

The greatest B&B with the most knowlegable and accomodating hosts you wuold ever wish to meet.
A total pleasure.
Greg & Sharyn Freeling SA

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregsharyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

If you're traveling through Coober Pedy, you MUST book in and stay at Down to Erth B&B. Alex and Rose have created such a wonderful space for their guests. Rose has thought of EVERYTHING in making one's stay there very welcoming and comfortable. Our first morning in Coober Pedy, we actually didn't want to leave the B&B! It was very hot outside and very cool and comfortable and lovely inside. The space is completely separate from Alex and Rose, so it's very private and relaxing; however they are just next door and readily available if you need anything or have questions about what to see and do in the area. Also, they're just lovely people to visit with. We would most definitely stay here again; loved it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSKtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Great hosts, great accommodation, fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_Damian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Excellent! Very unique experience. A must destination for travellers to or via Coober Pedy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemethlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
2.4 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down to Erth B &B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down to Erth B &B

Property: Down to Erth B &B
Address: Lot 1795 Wedgetail Crescent | P/O Box 142, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Down to Erth B &B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique underground Coober Pedy 2 bedroom apartment for a family or couple, accommodating up to 5 persons. Situated a quick 5 minute drive from the centre of town on the edge of the Coober Pedy Opal Fields. A plunge pool for cooling down in the warmer months and a choice of barbeque's,electric,gas or wood makes for relaxed living after a day exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Down to Erth B &B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing