We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lookout Cave Underground Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
264 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Lookout Cave for several reasons, the first being the room was very clean with loads of character as you'd expect from an underground room. Secondly, the staff were very friendly and helpful and, finally, the view from the top of the hill/hotel was brilliant, especially at sunset.

The Lookout Cave is respectably priced and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NUFCadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    215
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
148
239
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Service
Staff were friendly and helpful, and were able to offer suggestions for sightseeing and meal options. For the technology addicted the free WiFi connection is a bonus as there is no 3G reception underground :). The rooms all have a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and breakfast crockery for those who want to be self-contained.

Rooms
The rooms were basic, but very clean and comfortable. The decor is a bit dated, but this is not unusual in a remote/ regional location. Our travelling companions were elderly and had a little difficulty with the slope of the shower floor (one of the peculiarities of a dugout room).
We were accommodated in the 'front' section of the dugout and found the rooms quite warm even with the fan on. This was possibly due to being closer to the entrance where the door was constantly opening. The rooms at the back may be cooler? As you would expect from sleeping in a cave, the rooms were dark and pretty quiet, although in the front section we did have a bit of noise from the early risers coming past our room on their way out.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 71Teresa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

As a retired couple from Budapest, Hungary we arrived at Coober Pedy from Perth via Adelaide by flight. We found the the motel well-managed by the owner`s family. Many thanks for their every-day help, advices, free lifts to and back from restaurants etc. Free wifi works well in the rooms.
Great place, great people. Highly recommended!
Érdemes idejönni (=worth to co come here).

Kati and Tibor

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our first trip to Coober Pedy and it couldn't have been more enjoyable. The room we had was pleasant. Staff were always there to assist in whatever way possible. They offered suggested itineries for each day, gave directions to places we wanted to see and got us to advise when we returned from a day of trekking around so that they knew we were safe. The owner even does your washing and drying for you so you don't have to waste time that could be spent enjoying Coober Pedy. There is a lookout on top of the accommodation from which you can watch sunrise and sunset over the town. An absolutely great time.

Room Tip: Probably want a self catering room if you don't like eating out each night as there is no microw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Heading to Uluru for the easter holidays, we stopped in at Coober Pedy to look around. The room was clean and fresh. The owners welcoming, and we loved the lookout above the rooms.
It was warmish in the room overnight but with the fan on, it was fine. Lovely and quiet too! Our son also loved the whole idea. On our way back home, we stopped here again, and got a room towards the back of the cave which was a little more roomy. Have nothing but good things to say. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all good, depending on how you like caves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lookoutcave, Owner at The Lookout Cave Underground Motel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We have so many guests like yourself who stay with us one way and then again on the return trip.
That speaks volumes to us and we love welcoming back past guests. Many thanks for your post & review... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great first experience staying in a dugout.. Exactly as described, friendly staff and clean facilities.
Highly recommend for people travelling between places. Pizza from down the road was also good (as recommended by staff)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Not one for confined spaces, a lack of windows and the room feeling warm and a bit stuffy made me feel a bit claustraphobic at first. With 3 in the cave, I hogged the fan. All in all a very clean and tidy accommodation with very helpful staff. The roof top view was a definate bonus

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Cave Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Cave Underground Motel

Property: The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Address: 1141 McKenzie CL | P.O. Box 79, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lookout Cave Underground Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Cave is a family owned and operated Underground Motel, providing guests with a warm &welcoming atmosphere.Located minutes from the town centre the Lookout Cave is situated on a hillside in a secure and quietlocation with views over looking Coober Pedy.The Motel features 18 underground guestrooms including one & two bedroom self-contained units. Allrooms are equipped with a bar fridge, 32” LED TV, kettle, toaster and include a private en-suite with toiletand shower.Immerse yourself with ochre-lit skies across the vast desert landscape that continues as far as the eyecan see.Coober Pedy is a resource of hidden treasures; we encourage you to explore and discover a unique outback experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Lookout Cave Underground Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing