We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a great place to stay in Coober Pedy. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The place is really beautiful inside and the room was very good. I really like the location as it is up in the side of a hill overlooking the town, and short climb above the motel gives 360deg views of the surrounding landscape. Really loved our stay here and would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

On our arrival we were met by Nick who was friendly and very helpful even offering to help with our luggage. During our stay he advised us on where to eat & the places to see and things to do.. The room we stayed in( Room 23) was just like staying in a cave, we had a small family room which was quite roomy for the 2 of us. There are Bbq facilities which we used while we watched the great sunset. We were even offered the use of their laundry which we appreciated. Thankyou Nick and daughter Fran for a really lovely stay. Would definitely Recommend as a great place to stay in Coober Pedy.

Room Tip: any room there would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leawin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

You can't stay in Coober Pedy and not stay underground. The staff at The Lookout Cave Underground Motel were friendly, the rooms were lovely and cool (a wonderful contrast to the stifling heat outside!) and great views from the top. Definitely one to tick off the bucket list!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CandPMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Sleeping in a cave is somewhat the only option in Coober Pedy and we went for it! At first I felt locked up, having no windows will do that to me. But I got used to it and then I was ok :)

The family running this place is super friendley and helpfull. Rooms were clean except the flipflops we found under the bed from previous guests. This happens I suppose.

For our way back we had a booking in a differt hotel but cancelled that one and booked an extra night here as it was as good as can be in coober pedy.

Would recommend you staying here!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Lilzlilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the queen apartments here, which I was informed has been refurbished only a year or two ago - absolutely loved it! It's modern but sticks to the original underground feeling and theme and is very clean. The hotel operators are friendly and helpful and we loved the location - on top of (but inside of) a hill overlooking Coober Pedy. Well worth every cent paid!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Keekstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Location is great just above town sunset lookout is perfect. Novel place to sleep underground. Recommendation for Johns Pizza was also an excellent choice! Only negative was rooms are a bit noisy (although most of this was from a toddler in the room across the hallway!)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelss_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Lookout Cave for several reasons, the first being the room was very clean with loads of character as you'd expect from an underground room. Secondly, the staff were very friendly and helpful and, finally, the view from the top of the hill/hotel was brilliant, especially at sunset.

The Lookout Cave is respectably priced and well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NUFCadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Cave Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Cave Underground Motel

Address: 1141 McKenzie CL | P.O. Box 79, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £79 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lookout Cave Underground Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel offers 3 & 4 star underground accommodation in a quiet & secure location set on a hillside overlooking town. The Motel features 18 underground guestrooms including one & two bedroom self-contained units. All rooms are equipped with a bar fridge, 32” LED TV, kettle, toaster and include a private en-suite with toilet and shower. Immerse yourself with ochre-lit skies across the vast desert landscape that continues as far as the eye can see. Sleeping underground is a one of a kind experience, unique in its entirety and an opportunity not to be missed. Our rooms go deep in to the hillside; up to 50m at ground level and approximately 25m underground. If its on your bucket list - plan your holiday and cross it off! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lookout Cave Underground Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing