We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great underground experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great underground experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our family stayed 3 nights here and really enjoyed our underground experience. The hotel has large spacious rooms that are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge meaning that we. Lulu make ourselves breakfast each morning. The owner is extremely helpful and each day was full of great advice on what activities to do. I recommend staying at least one night underground while in Coober Pecy as it is a truly unique experience. The rooms stay a constant temperature but can sometimes feel a bit stuffy, however our room had several pedestal fans which were great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    222
    29
    2
    1
See reviews for
155
262
38
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

An amazing experience. I called to let them know I would be arriving quite late .. And the lady was lovely and understanding.. Upon arriving into Cobber Pedy at 9pm, I called to find the right directions to the property, was given direction right up to the door. The staff of this property were so welcoming (at even such a late time, and even though they had waited up for us). Our room was small but extremely comfortable. And the bed was FANTASTIC!! Waking up in the morning and walking out and seeing the lovely view overlooking Coober Pedy was great!! All in all a fantastic experience and I would stay here again when I travel through!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night on our way to central Australia in April. Great location, lovely hosts happy to help out with anything, and a great underground room experience. I would happily recommend staying here. Make sure you get a local pizza with your discount voucher.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windyhill5214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, NSW
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a great place to stay in Coober Pedy. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The place is really beautiful inside and the room was very good. I really like the location as it is up in the side of a hill overlooking the town, and short climb above the motel gives 360deg views of the surrounding landscape. Really loved our stay here and would go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

On our arrival we were met by Nick who was friendly and very helpful even offering to help with our luggage. During our stay he advised us on where to eat & the places to see and things to do.. The room we stayed in( Room 23) was just like staying in a cave, we had a small family room which was quite roomy for the 2 of us. There are Bbq facilities which we used while we watched the great sunset. We were even offered the use of their laundry which we appreciated. Thankyou Nick and daughter Fran for a really lovely stay. Would definitely Recommend as a great place to stay in Coober Pedy.

Room Tip: any room there would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leawin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

You can't stay in Coober Pedy and not stay underground. The staff at The Lookout Cave Underground Motel were friendly, the rooms were lovely and cool (a wonderful contrast to the stifling heat outside!) and great views from the top. Definitely one to tick off the bucket list!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CandPMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Sleeping in a cave is somewhat the only option in Coober Pedy and we went for it! At first I felt locked up, having no windows will do that to me. But I got used to it and then I was ok :)

The family running this place is super friendley and helpfull. Rooms were clean except the flipflops we found under the bed from previous guests. This happens I suppose.

For our way back we had a booking in a differt hotel but cancelled that one and booked an extra night here as it was as good as can be in coober pedy.

Would recommend you staying here!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lilzlilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lookout Cave Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Cave Underground Motel

Property: The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Address: 1141 McKenzie CL | P.O. Box 79, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lookout Cave Underground Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lookout Cave is a family owned and operated Underground Motel, providing guests with a warm &welcoming atmosphere.Located minutes from the town centre the Lookout Cave is situated on a hillside in a secure and quietlocation with views over looking Coober Pedy.The Motel features 18 underground guestrooms including one & two bedroom self-contained units. Allrooms are equipped with a bar fridge, 32” LED TV, kettle, toaster and include a private en-suite with toiletand shower.Immerse yourself with ochre-lit skies across the vast desert landscape that continues as far as the eyecan see.Coober Pedy is a resource of hidden treasures; we encourage you to explore and discover a unique outback experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lookout Cave Underground Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing