We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Interesting' town to visit, with very little to do. One day is enough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coober Pedy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'Interesting' town to visit, with very little to do. One day is enough”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

At $30/night for unpowered, very very small and tight, dirt camp area, I would expect free showers. Showers were 0.20c/3minutes and we also had to pay for camp kitchen use. The locals put on a good show through the night with a small crowd fighting and screaming profanities at each other. Thank goodness for the front gate that locks at 10pm. There are a lot of truck stops and rest areas just south of the town that would have provided the same, if not better style of camping for free. There were a lot of people utilising these free facilities....perhaps we should've taken their lead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFourOzventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    63
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
85
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sf Bay Area
Level Contributor
252 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

What a dump. After a long, rough day driving up from south of Adelaide, I pulled in just after 7PM. The man in the office was rude, angry & unprofessional. After paying, I drove through the property to my assigned site, to find that it was already occupied. Apparently the man in the office couldn't even keep track of what was assigned, as the site next door was free. The entire place was literally nothing but campers parked side by side, with no grass, trees, or even any actual space. The bathroom was filthy. The non-free wifi was slow & unreliable. Of all the Big4 parks that I stayed in during 3 weeks in Australia, this was the worst, by a large margin. Surely the other camper parks in town have to be better, as they really can't be much worse.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I must admit after a bad experience at Pt Augusta with a Big 4 we were worried what would await us at this Big 4. Our expectations were lowered to old and dirty. However upon entering the cabin we were pleasantly surprised. The cabin was very small for five people but it was clean and well maintained.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank maggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Facilities (use the larger newer ones) were very good. The kids game room and pool were pretty good. Our powered site was quite small and had no water (some sites do, some don't). Staff however weren't very friendly or cheery

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

After arriving late afternoon all we wanted was a place to rest. This is not the place after speaking to the extremely rude receptionist we were told that although we had a booking we had been put into a space that was too small for the camper. No facilities for children. The only good thing was the extremely clean and new amenities block. Whilst paying was painful the showers were warm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

5 families stayed for 2 nights in camper trailers and caravans in the Qld winter school hols. We actually preferred this park to Birdsville c/p and Ayers Rock Resort Campground! The amenities were clean and plenty of hot water (don't forget to take your 20c pieces!) Laundry facilities were great, and we spent a couple of days exploring. Don't forget to visit Josephines' Kangaroo Orphanage, free entry (make a donation). The Old Timer's Mine was very informative and self-guided. It got very busy in the park, so book ahead during peak times.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family_of_four_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Campbell, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

CP is not one of our most favourite places in Oz, but we did stay four nights, or I should say, our van stayed for this time, as we used this site for a base to travel. We required to leave the van somewhere safe and secure, while we traveled to William Creek, for a flight over Lake Eyre, and then did the Oodnadatta Track, as we were not staying at the site, I did try for a small discount as some sites do allow a discount for parking vans only, but no way, was told it was peak season, and van was using valuable space, actually it was not peak, but that's fine, people have to earn a living. We booked well ahead of time and received confirmation, but on arrival we were not booked in, and asked to prove it. Lucky we had our laptop, and saved a copy of email, as the person who confirmed was the person we were speaking to at reception, but all good as they had plenty of room, even if not booked ahead, lucky considering it was there peak....the amenities were average as new ones were under construction, pay for water in showers, no prob, to be expected in this area, very dusty to be expected, but like we said a good safe place to leave the van, to explore the surrounding country.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.4 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
0.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.7 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park

Property: Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park
Address: Seventeen Mile Rd, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist and Cabin Park,Ensuite sites, Exclusive to Oasis Drive Thru water connection sites. Daily Town &Mine Tours, Breakaways Sunset Tours, Member Discounts apply,Discounts on Award Winning Resturants,Indigenous Art Gallery, Biggest and Best Amenities in SA ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing