We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kepp driving past Stuart Range Park and go to Oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coober Pedy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We first booked into Big4 Stuart Range and found it very deceptive, it all looked good until we got past reception,we weren't told the pool did not work, the campground was tacky and unkempt.Unemptied rubbish bins stank outside the kitchen, 2 minute shower was actually 1.40seconds for 20cents and was cold, water drained out the campkitchen sink before we had washed our dishes, also cold.Showers flooded out the amenities. It was also confusing to work out which organization this park belonged to, we left in disgust and went to the Oasis, what a wonderful Park, hosts were very helpful, amenities roomy, clean and elegant. Park was tidy and maintained,the pool was great! Hot Showers were 3 minutes for 20 cents, we also received member discount. We extended our stay and will be back.We recommend this oasis to everyone wanting to visit Coober Pedy, a welcome relief after the let down at Stuart Range.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissut51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgecooberpedy, Owner at Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We sincerely appreciate your comments and are glad you decided not to leave but stayed longer here in Coober Pedy to experience some of the better things our unique town has to offer. Hope you have many memorable moments on your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Coober Pedy is a special place, and we didn't know quite what to expect when driving into town with our camper van. We were happy to be given a place at the Oasis despite our late arrival, and had a pleasant, quiet night there. The owners were friendly and the camp very well kept with good facilities. But one has to keep the perspective that this is a mining town not a tourist centre.
We took the morning tour to have a closer look at this curious sprawling settlement, with a guide who was a former opal miner (and thus had a few stories to tell); not uninteresting, but a bit long.

(Rating is noted as 'Very good', because it is better than 'Average'. 'Good' would be more like it.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muverans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We came here because the pool actually had water in it, the kids loved it and it was inside to keep the sun off, very hot during our stay, 40+. The grounds were very clean and tidy, and amenities amazing! We were able to park under shade and there were ample trees around the place, not what I expected, a pleasant surprise. Local artwork greeted us in reception upon checking in and the bloke went out of his way to answer our questions about Coober Pedy. Staff were also very helpful especially the local aboriginal woman with her knowledge. This was a very comfortable park, best location, we were able to walk to the opal shops, museum and restaurant/pizza. It was disappointing to arrive at the other park to find the pool was not in use during the hottest months, however the Oasis more than made up for this,the only park to stay at.

Room Tip: Be mindful of which way the sun rises and sets when choosing a site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Oasis. Beautiful amenities and laundry facilities. Very friendly owner and staff. Their pool is amazing and very refreshing.
The best caravan park destination to stay at whilst in Coober Pedy.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CSWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We didn't know what to expect with the reviews that had been posted. Got there and were met by friendly staff, got an en suite powered caravan site, plenty big enough and easy to get in to, just have to supply your own water on non en suite sites. Water is precious here, don't forget, you're in the desert and local water is pumped from 26 km away. Showers are charged at a cheap fee of 20c for 3 minute if needed. Town water available for caravan and camper refill charge of 20c for 30 litres not far from the park on the main road. Did a 3 hour tour with tour guide Rudi, worth every cent and recommended. Free noodling spots around town. The town is unique and a must see. No noise. The only grass in town is at 2 sporting locations. Gravel sites.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank 772darleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights and 2 days in a powered van site at The Oasis in Coober Pedy and will be back!!
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean and certainly adequate. The Park runs tours of Coober Pedy (with Rudi) and the Breakaway (with George) and these should not be missed!
I note the few negative comments of some reviewers. Sure, the sites are gravel, when the wind blows it is a bit dusty and it costs 20 cents for a hot shower but it is the bloody "outback" - what else would you expect! The outback has a magic of its own - just go and enjoy it!! For the outback it is a great Park and we will certainly recommend it to our travelling friends.

Pete and Helen

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeteandHelenNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Whilst not the Taj Mahal, this park is one of the better ones we have been to in terms of the basic cabin interiors. We stayed in the Studio cabin and although it was not new, it was clean, comfortable and pleasant. Not much greenery in the park itself, however that it is be expected in such an arid environment. Check in was friendly and efficient. Coober Pedy is a good stop off point for long distance travellers and this park is fine for that.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarleynLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
0.0 mi away
Venushill B&B
Venushill B&B
#3 of 4 in Coober Pedy
19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park

Address: Seventeen Mile Rd, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £17 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist and Cabin Park,Ensuite sites, Exclusive to Oasis Drive Thru water connection sites. Daily Town &Mine Tours, Breakaways Sunset Tours, Member Discounts apply,Discounts on Award Winning Resturants,Indigenous Art Gallery, Biggest and Best Amenities in SA ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing