We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were also a little confused with the site numbers, when checking in told to park anywhere, stayed two nights, after first night asked to put our awning down, as park was full, and each site could hold two caravans at a squeeze, after looking at the site numbers realized that each site had two numbers one in and one on the outside. I think when checking in it would be a good idea to issue a site number, as most people would think that the site was a single site. I did oblige and lowered my awning, but did hear from other people that had pre booked that they could not find a site.
However on an up note the pizza was fantastic.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MikenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

At first we thought it was fine for 2 night stay, a bit of confusion about site no, as we're told 2 would fit on 1 site ????. Amenities and other facilities were new and clean, until I got sick of having to line up to go to the loo.and the shower,. Yes they squash people in, on 1 site we found out that night when people came in late and pulled up so close to some it was awful.. Heard some angry people.
Hubby did enjoy a pizza, said it was the best, but overall for a Big 4 we were disappointed as we had been happier in some of the road house parks we had used.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sallybreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback , we appreciate it.

We are not a new park we were established in 1988 and are a family owned and operated business.
We have had and are still undergoing many changes with in the park, infrastructure wise.

We have had to prioritize with our renovations and we are very aware that the park site allocation is not the best.
We have been a BIG4 since December and have not been this busy before. We are working behind the scenes on this, a surveyor has already visited, but much time is taken on the renovation of our apartments at present.

We hope to have the site allocation much clearly defined by the end of the year.

Our location in the desert involves more obstacles, its not as straight forward as you may think.

Thanks again, we are working on it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great to see the improvements. We enjoyed our stay, went on the bus tour of the town.

only downside, was that maintenance in the caravan park should not be ignored,
tap fell of in the laundry, and the dump point needs a lid, flies were at their worst, so not the nicest of looks or smell.

but well done.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEODIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in an apartment on our way to Alice Springs and were so impressed we booked in on our way back as well. Beautifully appointed and roomy. Oh, and the toiletries are a cut above any I have ever tried. Everything one could want. Gotta try the pizza too, just wonderful. Would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone looking for something upmarket.

Room Tip: All apartments are wonderful, the budget rooms are just that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annbaby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

First time in Coober Pedy and we really didn't know where to stay. Found the BIG4 and asked about their accommodation and as the Ulysses Motorcycles were in town on their way to Alice, we only had a choice of 1 apartment. We took it for two nights and were thrilled to find an extremely high quality fitout. King size bed, modern bathroom and full kitchen with washing machine and diswasher. Dining table, leather lounge, tv dvd stereo, and a writing desk. We felt safe, secure, comfortable, relaxed and a bit spoilt. It was so good my husband and I joined up to be BIG4 members and now will be looking at BIG4 wherever we travel. Thanks for having us!

Room Tip: Did the afternoon tour which is organised through the BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reception, pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jibby9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so much for all the great feedback, our apartments are doing really well and we are thrilled to provide quality accommodation to all our guests.
Our new Executive 4 star apartments should be open in August, so you'll have even more options.
Thanks again.
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night 1st of may 2014. We arrived in a motor home expecting to pull up after a massive day of driving to have a shower. We put 60 cents in to use the shower, it was not warming up so waited longer after $4 I decided it must have been a problem ( office closed)
The next morning tried again, still not working. We paid $50 for the spot to park the van plus the charge for the water just to use this stopping place for a nice warm shower and a secure spot to stop. It was a tad noisy by camers next to us too.
We left very early and will not be recommending this place for a stop over for motor homes or tenting.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Emmaeggl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We had an issue with unexpected heavy rain causing damage to a hot water service. So hence we were out of hot water for approximately 24 hours. The problem has since been resolved. If we don't now about a problem we cant fix it.
Thank you for your feedback, but calling us directly would have been better option so we could rectify the problem sooner. Dissing us on Trip Advisor isn't really fair as we haven't told our side of the story.
I empathize with the frustration about not having hot water.
We have since apologized to this customer personally.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived at this caravan park at 12.30pm and by 1.15pm were on their 5 hour tour of Coober Pedy. It was so worthwhile as we would not have had the insight into the town if we had just driven around ourselves. The guide was very knowledgeable and very informative. The caravan park was lovely, the staff very friendly and the pizza fantastic.
The shower/toilet/laundry block was of an extremely high standard. The 20 cents you have to pay for a 2 minute shower is a small price to pay for the use of the showers as water is such an expensive commodity there and if the truth be known, I think the showers are much longer than the 2 minutes specified.
I would HIGHLY recommend this caravan park to anyone travelling through town and also the tours they offer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheriden71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.8 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.5 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Address: Hutchison Street | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £85 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway on Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 star Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a camp kitchen, laundry and amenity block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing