We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the bad old days. Not Big 4 standard.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Back to the bad old days. Not Big 4 standard.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Comments from other recent reviewers are echoed,

This park, whilst modern and having excellent, clean facilities for small numbers is grossly overcrowded during school holidays and poorly regulated.

Sites are numbered but unregulated with visitors told to park where they wish. Capacity is exceeded by doubling up campers on sites which are already tight.

In turn, that means that showers and toilets in the single toilet block are queued back at peak times (especially when getting kids showered).

On our first night, I heard some disputes. I was surprised to find ourselves the recipients of this on our second night when, after occupying our site, power cable and equipment, a guest threatened me with physical assault. As the office was closed and all sites full, there was no option but to leave.

Definitely a poor option if travelling in a camper; you are better off by the roadside out of town.

There are other excellent accommodation options in Coober Pedy. If possible, we suggest that you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks for your feed back.

It is unfortunate that someone got aggressive with you while re-parking your vehicle, it doesn't make sense to me. We do not condone this type of behavior. We are sorry that you thought leaving was the only solution.
There is always someone in the office until 10:30pm and 4 managers live on site, a phone call would have made this situation better controlled, with a suitable outcome.

You stated that the park was fully booked, how would you know that we were fully booked? we have an over flow park also available to guests, and a system that allows us not to oversell, so even if you couldn't stay in the site you originally chose there would always be one available to you.

This seems to me that frustration & defense against the other party contributed to a lack of logic that has created an ill experience for you.

As mentioned in previous reviews, we are in the process of getting our sites allocated to better suit our increased numbers of caravaners since joining the BIG4 in December.

We are aware of the situation, but our surveyor has allocated a certain number of sites and we are not going over that limit. It has a lot to do with how other people park and this is what we need to rectify, the boundary of the site.

You are right it has been very busy these school holidays. I have put a mud map explaining that guests can use the smaller park bathrooms to ease congestion.

Can you please confirm that you stayed with us, the BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort. There have been a few changes that some have found confusing.

Any form of communication to us would have been better so we could find a solution rather than finding out via TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    93
    51
    21
    12
See reviews for
58
135
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Korumburra
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Park is situated just off the highway, an easy short walk into town. Very friendly staff - check in was easy. Pizza restaurant at the park is highly recommended. Sites are not allocated and can be a bit squashed in but the playground was a hit for the kids and the camp kitchen and amenities are excellent. Showers are 20 cents for 2 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JJJSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahorntal, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Situated in a good spot, just 10 mins walk into town. Staff is VERY friendly and helpful and amenities are very good - I was very happy with that. Everything there you need.
Only thing which is really bad is that there is NO WIFI. They told me on the phone that was because the receiver got swept off the roof - I was told though that that has been last year's story already... pretty sad... also, I paid quite a lot just to put my tent up (25dollars per night) - it's almost the same price as if 2 people were camping here! (27 dollars)
All in all good when you're travelling in a group and as soon as the wifi is fixed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks for your feed back.
During our renovations to the office. Our cables were disconnected from the roof router and our phone socket, was put out of order. We do have wifi available in the reception and Pizzeria, just ask reception for the password. We are quite willing to give it.
Apologies for not being able to receive this in the caravan park. We are working on resolving this issue. We have just had a few higher priority items to contend with, but it should be completed with in a couple of weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in our motorhome. The grounds were clean but like many other reviewers we found unassigned sites to be a problem. We got to the site around lunchtime, there was quiet a couple of people there but we found the sites to be suitable size that you would expect at any other campsite. However after we came back from our afternoon tour we found the campsite to be packed, what we had though was just our site actually had fit another caravan making it very squishy. This wasn't as much of a problem for us as we only stayed inside but I know this would bother anyone wanting to spend time outside their caravan.
There are some undercover areas to park as well. Also note: It costs .20c for a very quick shower and another .20c to for 30 litters (from memory) of water for your water tank.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie0172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Campbell, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were also a little confused with the site numbers, when checking in told to park anywhere, stayed two nights, after first night asked to put our awning down, as park was full, and each site could hold two caravans at a squeeze, after looking at the site numbers realized that each site had two numbers one in and one on the outside. I think when checking in it would be a good idea to issue a site number, as most people would think that the site was a single site. I did oblige and lowered my awning, but did hear from other people that had pre booked that they could not find a site.
However on an up note the pizza was fantastic.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

At first we thought it was fine for 2 night stay, a bit of confusion about site no, as we're told 2 would fit on 1 site ????. Amenities and other facilities were new and clean, until I got sick of having to line up to go to the loo.and the shower,. Yes they squash people in, on 1 site we found out that night when people came in late and pulled up so close to some it was awful.. Heard some angry people.
Hubby did enjoy a pizza, said it was the best, but overall for a Big 4 we were disappointed as we had been happier in some of the road house parks we had used.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sallybreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback , we appreciate it.

We are not a new park we were established in 1988 and are a family owned and operated business.
We have had and are still undergoing many changes with in the park, infrastructure wise.

We have had to prioritize with our renovations and we are very aware that the park site allocation is not the best.
We have been a BIG4 since December and have not been this busy before. We are working behind the scenes on this, a surveyor has already visited, but much time is taken on the renovation of our apartments at present.

We hope to have the site allocation much clearly defined by the end of the year.

Our location in the desert involves more obstacles, its not as straight forward as you may think.

Thanks again, we are working on it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great to see the improvements. We enjoyed our stay, went on the bus tour of the town.

only downside, was that maintenance in the caravan park should not be ignored,
tap fell of in the laundry, and the dump point needs a lid, flies were at their worst, so not the nicest of looks or smell.

but well done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEODIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.6 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Property: BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Address: Hutchison Street (Just off the Stuart Highway) | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway on Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 star Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a camp kitchen, laundry and amenity block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing