We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Young Caravan Park in need of UpGrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Two booked vans arrived with staff never advising that we had the Army camping alongside us and that our site would have difficulty with electricity supplies and was a gibber stone plain. The four power outlets available for four sites was in fact three because as soon as the fourth connected it blew everyone else out. Hence we had to string power cables together to extend to another power source. Whilst Army staff were great the fact that their trucks are very large and noisy and because they had some flat tires it required them to keep an engine going which ruined any quiet time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It was indeed unfortunate that the power blew the power points when some one plugged there power in, this kind of situation usually happens when there is a fault with a power cord.
We can not rectify theses types of problems if no one tells us, open communication is needed so that we can resolve these types of issues.

We were established in 1988 and have had some renovations in recent years as stated in other reviews we are looking at all areas to improve our park one of these areas is the allocation of sites in the top park, we are working on this.

The Army come in a couple of times per year and have always been great to have stay. Again this comes back to communication and If it was a problem for you we would have refunded your money once you saw them arriving that afternoon.
We don't tell people of all our guests staying, I don't think its that much different than having 20 other caravans leave on dawn like they usually do.
The Army sacrifice a lot for this country, if the sound of there truck leaving to go and train in the desert in the morning is all you have to complain about then in deed you are very lucky.
Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Got in late afternoon......very few sites left. But was OK ...amenities block clean...about 1.00 for coin operated shower.
Fairly bare area, hopefully trees will get growing soon.
It looked very packed....but positive is they accepted small dog.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed two nights- vans packed in ridiculously tight, nowhere to hook in our waste pipe, and unable to get power because the outlet was so far away. There was bewilderment from many of the grey nomads around us really angry that they are unnumbered sites, and there's a bit of a "who cares" attitude from the owner- who told me "your wife talks too much" when she asked where the power outlet was- he was an extremely rude person. We've been travelling for many weeks now and we found this a disappointing place to stay. The only reason I'm giving it 2 stars is that it's easy to find driving in from the Stuart highway, and they make good pizza at the bistro.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank pabartle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with a caravan. As we arrived early we were able to select a reasonably large site (some were more cramped). Latecomers were less fortunate. The apparently well fitted camp kitchen had several problems: only a few room lights worked and at night we had to resort to head torches to cook! The one functioning microwave oven needed instructions and some campers couldn't make it work. When washing up, one plug served two sinks. A further irritation was that the large TV was for most of the time monopolised by children and parents watching cartoons for hours on end with the volume turned up high. Badly designed but apparently reasonably new women's amenities had wash basins opposite the showers, not the toilet cubicles and the bench tops were always very wet because the bowls were too far from the front edge! In an area were water is especially precious, having to pay 20 cents for a 2 minute shower is no problem, however I did discover that at least one of the showers gave unlimited free hot water, despite the notices. In summary, I was disappointed that there were such minor deficiencies that needed attention.






Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MNE43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Comments from other recent reviewers are echoed,

This park, whilst modern and having excellent, clean facilities for small numbers is grossly overcrowded during school holidays and poorly regulated.

Sites are numbered but unregulated with visitors told to park where they wish. Capacity is exceeded by doubling up campers on sites which are already tight.

In turn, that means that showers and toilets in the single toilet block are queued back at peak times (especially when getting kids showered).

On our first night, I heard some disputes. I was surprised to find ourselves the recipients of this on our second night when, after occupying our site, power cable and equipment, a guest threatened me with physical assault. As the office was closed and all sites full, there was no option but to leave.

Definitely a poor option if travelling in a camper; you are better off by the roadside out of town.

There are other excellent accommodation options in Coober Pedy. If possible, we suggest that you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for your feed back.

It is unfortunate that someone got aggressive with you while re-parking your vehicle, it doesn't make sense to me. We do not condone this type of behavior. We are sorry that you thought leaving was the only solution.
There is always someone in the office until 10:30pm and 4 managers live on site, a phone call would have made this situation better controlled, with a suitable outcome.

You stated that the park was fully booked, how would you know that we were fully booked? we have an over flow park also available to guests, and a system that allows us not to oversell, so even if you couldn't stay in the site you originally chose there would always be one available to you.

This seems to me that frustration & defense against the other party contributed to a lack of logic that has created an ill experience for you.

As mentioned in previous reviews, we are in the process of getting our sites allocated to better suit our increased numbers of caravaners since joining the BIG4 in December.

We are aware of the situation, but our surveyor has allocated a certain number of sites and we are not going over that limit. It has a lot to do with how other people park and this is what we need to rectify, the boundary of the site.

You are right it has been very busy these school holidays. I have put a mud map explaining that guests can use the smaller park bathrooms to ease congestion.

Can you please confirm that you stayed with us, the BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort. There have been a few changes that some have found confusing.

Any form of communication to us would have been better so we could find a solution rather than finding out via TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Park is situated just off the highway, an easy short walk into town. Very friendly staff - check in was easy. Pizza restaurant at the park is highly recommended. Sites are not allocated and can be a bit squashed in but the playground was a hit for the kids and the camp kitchen and amenities are excellent. Showers are 20 cents for 2 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JJJSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Situated in a good spot, just 10 mins walk into town. Staff is VERY friendly and helpful and amenities are very good - I was very happy with that. Everything there you need.
Only thing which is really bad is that there is NO WIFI. They told me on the phone that was because the receiver got swept off the roof - I was told though that that has been last year's story already... pretty sad... also, I paid quite a lot just to put my tent up (25dollars per night) - it's almost the same price as if 2 people were camping here! (27 dollars)
All in all good when you're travelling in a group and as soon as the wifi is fixed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuartrange, Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for your feed back.
During our renovations to the office. Our cables were disconnected from the roof router and our phone socket, was put out of order. We do have wifi available in the reception and Pizzeria, just ask reception for the password. We are quite willing to give it.
Apologies for not being able to receive this in the caravan park. We are working on resolving this issue. We have just had a few higher priority items to contend with, but it should be completed with in a couple of weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.8 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
373 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.6 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Address: Hutchison Street | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £84 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway on Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 star Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a camp kitchen, laundry and amenity block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing