We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY BUT THE HOSTS MAKE IT A MUST STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Underground Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
1 review
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY BUT THE HOSTS MAKE IT A MUST STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

The accommodation is five star which is comfortable, clean, spacious elegant and is a unique experience that is very impressive. However, what really made our stay memorable was the charm and friendly hosts, Ana and Ken. They like the their wonderful house ensured that we felt relaxed and with friends. Their B&B is very impressive and is attractive but they make the difference between just somewhere to rest overnight and feeling like you are at home. Great accommodation and great people.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
153
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Without doubt, the best place to stay in Coober Pedy. My wife and I wanted something different in underground accommodation but not the commercial, souless hotel type of room. It was pure luck that we chanced on Ana and Ken's place. The relaxed open air "foyer" led to the underground beautiful kitchen, down further underground lounge and bedrooms. Everything stated elegance and style. You could not meet more beautiful, earthly people than Ken and Ana. Will always be the place to stay on any future trips within South Australia. BTW, Coober Pedy is a unique "Aussie Town". It should be on everyone's Bucket List and the Underground B&B, is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at the Underground Bed and Breakfast twice, once going to Kings Canyon and again on the return trip. Ana and Ken were fantastic hosts, welcoming and friendly without being too intrusive. On both occasions we were accommodated in rooms that were spotlessly clean, cool (which was needed given we were in the middle of a heat wave) and attractive. We got a bottle of wine and chocolates upon our welcome, and we were able to cook a decent meal in the kitchen area. The spa bath was a nice option after our day of venturing down mine shafts. As one of the other reviewers noted, Coober Pedy can seem like a rough and barren place. We've been there a few times and I can now say I like the place a lot. But it is a relief to be staying somewhere where you are welcomed as a friend and accommodated as a king. Our 7 year old daughter loved this place also. Very nice!

Room Tip: Room 5 if you are a couple. Room 4 if you have one or two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

My partner and I stayed one night on our way to Ayers Rock - and didn't expect much from accommodation on our way in there. This place happened to be such a welcoming surprise after 8 hours drive in the hot Australian weather. First of all the temperature is perfect nice and cool under ground, and there is plenty of space and nice big rooms (bathrooms are huge). There is a lovely living room to share, with both well-equipped kitchen (breakfast cereals, milk, bread, cheese, jam...) , a small bar and tv, sofas ect. And wifi was extraordinary fast. Everything was clean to perfection as well. Unfortunately the owners were leaving for Christmas - otherwise we would have loved to stay a couple of days more on our return from Ayers Rock.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

An excellant time spent with Ken and Ana. It was good stay and your Becon egg breakfast was amazing. Excellant hosts and I would go there again. It is like home away from home and I thoroughly enjoyed your company. Your friends gave us good company in the evening.

Thanks to Ken and ana.
keep it up.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shankyinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

When we arrived in Coober Pedy after hours of driving from Adelaide we got a bit of a fright. The town is extremely hot and rugged but coming into the B&B was very comforting.
Ken and Ana who run the B&B are hands down the nicest people you will meet. They are so easy going and welcoming. They make you feel like family when you're there and we had great chat with them over a drink.
There is a nice outdoor area too with a spa.
The rooms were really well equipped and we shared our area with another family (the lounge and kitchen) which was fine as we chatted heaps then headed back to our own rooms afterwards.
Everything from the fluffy towels to the lovely bread at breakfast was top notch. There was even a bottle of Chardy ready to open when we arrived.
The town is actually really cool. Food in town was great and there are interesting characters about.
The B&B was definitely a place I would recommend to couples, families, whoever!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

What a great way to experience underground accommodation in Coober Pedy! A lovely home and B&B. Very comfortable & welcoming. We will be back to explore this very different Aussie town. Thanks for the chats Ken & Ana! The Baensch Family

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Down to Erth B &B
Down to Erth B &B
#2 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underground Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underground Bed & Breakfast

Property: Underground Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lot 1647 Potch Gly, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Underground Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underground Bed and Breakfast is a five bedroom four bathroom underground home, with its own private entrance. It boasts a lovely undercover parking, barbecue area and spa. Continental breakfast is supplied. The master bedrooms boasts an en-suite while the other two share the main bathroom. There is a Home theatre, television and Internet access. Only 1.5Km from center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Underground Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing