We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Amazingly deceptive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow! Amazingly deceptive”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the way to NT and on the way back. On the first stay we had the whole section to ourselves as we needed the 3 bedrooms. Absolutely immaculate bedrooms, living and kitchen. We sat outside at night by around the stove fire enjoying the complimentary wine.

The second night we only required one room, on the other side of the premises. Beautiful. The hosts were great, the breakfast simple, the beers cheap @ $3. We stayed with our 5 yr old and 1 yr old.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burmese12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
hi, Thankyou for your review on "tripadvisor" we are all okay here hope you are all the same.

Regards Ken & Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
97
153
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights in Coober Pedy at Ana and Ken's. Very friendly owners and very helpful. Got my first experience at noodling....
The rooms are beautiful, spacious and beds comfortable. If we ever go back to Coober we will stay in this place for sure.
Many thanks, merci beaucoup and muchas gracias.....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
thankyou for your kind remarks on your tripadvisor review, it helps us and other people wanting to travel.

Regards Ken and Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our Underground B&B experience is one we will always treasure. Our hosts, Ana and Ken, made us feel so welcome, they were immediately more like old friends than hosts. Our accommodation was spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained, and the welcoming gifts of wine and chocolate completed an incredible first impression. We were also surprised that there was absolutely no feeling of claustrophobia whatsoever. Ana and Ken were brilliant - never intrusive but always there with a wealth of local knowledge and tips for making our stay in the area truly memorable. They are very special people and we hope to see our friends again on our next trip north.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irmi-and-Graeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
thank you for your review on "tripadvisor" good to hear from you again hope all is well with you ,all is okay at our end.

Regards Ken and Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

TO stay with you was great , loved the SPA and the Roast some day we hope to get back to see you as our stay with you felt like being with family,your rooms are great and so was the breakfasts but the best part was the roast ,we are so glad we gave you an invitation to join us all for pre dinner drinks and we hope all is going well for you both ,are you half way across the simpson yet? the best to you both Nannette and Robert

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannettec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Hi folks ! gess what tonight is roast night nice piece of seasoned rolled pork I will think of you when I have some crackling , hope you are all okay ! as we are here, thanks for the review on "tripadvisor" all the best and good luck.

Regards Ken and Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiba, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Special experience of staying underground room.
The room is very clean, nice looking, gorgeous.
Very friendly hostess and host.
The B&B operates some tours, so I booked the tour to Lake Eyer.
But unfortunately road was closed because of rain.
The host took us to "Break aways" instead of Lake Eyer.
We enjoyed the stay and tour.
It was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mune-MMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
thank you for your kind review on "tripadvisor" we have had more rain again here went to the lake a few days ago it is all green you may need to come back all the best and goog luck.

Regards Ken and Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Ana and Ken immediately made us feel welcome. The accommodation was wonderful - comfortable, unique, beautifully furnished, warm, and clean; making us feel very much at home! Wine and chocolates greeted us, breakfast was plentiful, and Ana and Ken's local knowledge and hospitality were fantastic. We are so happy that we stayed here! We had a wonderful trip and highly recommend the Underground Bed & Breakfast as a great place to stay when in Coober Pedy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hello, thank you for your review on "tripadvisor" the best used travel site in the world ,good luck and all the best.

Regards Ken & Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Thanks Anna n Ken for sharing your warmth and generosity. You both made a highlight in our trip n we felt very welcomed. The accommodation was beyond any we had seen. Roomy lounge and bedrooms with outdoor fire area and separate kitchen made everything very comfortable for us. It was also very lovely to mix socially with your international guests. Great night all round! Really enjoyed the spa! Lots of love and memories Chris n Michelle Mart.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hello,

Thankyou for your Review on "tripadvisor" hope you are all well as we are here .

Regards Ken & Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Down to Erth B &B
Down to Erth B &B
#2 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underground Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underground Bed & Breakfast

Property: Underground Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lot 1647 Potch Gly, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Underground Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underground Bed and Breakfast is a five bedroom four bathroom underground home, with its own private entrance. It boasts a lovely undercover parking, barbecue area and spa. Continental breakfast is supplied. The master bedrooms boasts an en-suite while the other two share the main bathroom. There is a Home theatre, television and Internet access. Only 1.5Km from center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Underground Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing