We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find true Australian hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We arrived in Coober Pedy on 1 January 2014 in the heat of the summer and this was a true oasis! Ken and Ana are fantastic, amazingly hospitable and helpful. They make Underground Bed & Breakfast a unique experience: an underground accommodation (a really wonderful experience), a cozy, clean, quiet and comfortable place like very few (if any) in the world! We have no doubt that this is the best possible accommodation in Coober Pedy. Moreover, this is a place you have to see and experience at least once in your life! We already have plans to return there when we'll have another holiday :-) Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: Let Ana or Ken what you'll like and it is all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Ken and Ana are amazing hosts. They indeed have a beautiful B&B. It was a perfect place to unwind after a long day of driving from Adelaide on our way to Darwin. Modern stylings and decor. Extremely clean and well maintained. Will definitely stay here again next time we are in Coober Pedy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timwmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I decided to stay here on our transit through to Adelaide. I was by far the best place i have stayed out of all the places i have stayed in Australia thus far. The service and advice on local place to eat were spot on. It was like a home away from home. The underground lounge was very inviting and homely. We had our 15month old and he had a ball there. Anna and Ken were excellent hosts so welcoming and easy to talk to. One of the days we stayed there it was 45deg but it was still cool and comfortable sleep which made the 5am start so much easier.
Can't wait stay there next time we will have to spend a little more time there i think as it was really really good. Well Done to Ken and Anna on their awards as they defiantly live up to them.
Also the photo's online don't do the place justice as it is way more majestic than it looks online.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thanks folks for your kind remarks in your review on "tripadvisor" ,we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ,we try to make people welcome

Regards Ken and Ana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We opted to stay here on our way to and from Uluru. After searching for underground accommodation in the various hotels but being put off after questionable reviews for many of them we chanced upon Ken & Ana's b&b. The reviews were fantastic and the pictures looked amazing - could it be too good to be true? In a word...NO!! From the second we called to make a booking we were impressed by the friendliness and on arrival - well, quite simply we were blown away by what we saw. Ana and Ken were born to this trade and are two of the most friendly, welcoming people we have ever encountered. As for the accommodation - incredibly comfortable, spotlessly clean and absolutely everything you could possibly think of needing is at your fingertips. We had all of Area 1 as there were 6 of us and it was simply perfect. The BBQ and hot-tub area is the icing on the cake and exactly what the doctor ordered after a mind-numbing drive of 9 hours from Adelaide - not to mention the pitch dark when the light goes out and you can slip into a deep, comfortable sleep. We were sad to leave in the morning to continue our journey north to Uluru - especially when we saw the accommodation we were met with up there - and absolutely delighted to return the following night on our return trip to Adelaide! Both sets of our parents return to the UK this Monday with very fond memories of Coober Pedy and the welcome we received - and as for Alan and myself - well, we are already planning our next trip to the Underground B&B!!! Thank you Ken and Ana for a spectacular experience!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeLassie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Hi Folks ,

thanks for the kind remarks for your stay with us at underground bed & breakfast we are youhappy you enjoyed your stay ,all the best and good luck. Regards Ken and Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We went to Coober Pedy on 25/12/2013 and Ken and Anna greeted us with big smiles and a warm welcome. The underground room was amazingly cool (with outside temps getting above 35 at times) and very dark at night (helped us get a great night's sleep!). We did the Painted desert tour the next day and it was great to see wild life in their natural habitat! The painted desert was beautiful with views of the flat lands as far as you could see. Slighty expensive but about the same with other tour providers. Still highly recommend going out to the outback. Morning tea with Ken's homemade lamingtons and a yummy lunch was provided too. We finished the tour early so had enough time to chill out in their lovely B&B with full kitchen facilities, TV, and movies. Thank you for such an amazing experience, Ken and Anna. Still can't believe we were 9m underground!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. We stayed in the one with an ensuite. Just for added comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meghnag2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Hi Guys ,

good to hear from you !! we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us , thank you for the kind words you said in your "tripadvisor" review we try to do the right thing buy our guests.

Regards Ken & Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Outstanding accommodation. Definitely the best place I have ever stayed in the whole world. The rooms were beautiful, the service was fantastic and the value is unbelievable. Ken and Ana are excellent hosts and are deserving of all their awards and great reviews.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueOwens81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Hi,

good to hear from you ! thank you for your kind words in your review on "tripadvisor" getting hot for the next few days 40 plus time to go underground!! all the best and good luck.

Regards Ken and Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Ken and Ana welcomed our family with generosity and humour, keeping our boisterous boys amused with noodling for opals and the spa. Nothing was too much to ask. Despite the rain, we had 2 great nights and a gentle relax on our journey through the Red Centre. Kids loved their mine experience and Ken's tales of his travels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndergroundBandB, Owner at Underground Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Hi ,

thank you for your kind remarks on your review with "tripadvisor" we like to hear comments from guests it helps other travellers as well as us.

Regards Ken and Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.0 mi away
Venushill B&B
Venushill B&B
#3 of 4 in Coober Pedy
19 reviews
1.1 mi away
Down to Erth B &B
Down to Erth B &B
#2 of 4 in Coober Pedy
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underground Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underground Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lot 1647 Potch Gly, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £69 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Underground Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underground Bed and Breakfast is a five bedroom four bathroom underground home, with its own private entrance. It boasts a lovely undercover parking, barbecue area and spa. Continental breakfast is supplied. The master bedrooms boasts an en-suite while the other two share the main bathroom. There is a Home theatre, television and Internet access. Only 1.5Km from center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Underground Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing