We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss staying here when in Coober Pedy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moonta bay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss staying here when in Coober Pedy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

When visiting or passing through Coober Pedy stay at Ken and Ana's UndergroundBandB. Genuine underground accommodation at very reasonable rates and genuine folk who will help make your stay memorable. As a practising opal miner Ken will explain all the aspects of mining you wish to know. Both are fun loving and very hospitable people.
A true outback experience!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandWMoontaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
95
153
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carrum Downs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

What a BEAUT place to stay. Ken and Ana welcomed us in true Aussie style. They were the most fantastic, friendly people we met on our journey and we really enjoyed their company. Laughed with them as we all told stories and shared life experiences. Met the locals - great bunch. Ken and Ana gave us a list of the great places in Coober Pedy to visit. And for all of the golfers - a must see is the golf course. The accommodation was absolutely beautiful, ensuite is gorgeous. Lots of places to relax. We traveled with 3 teenagers and 3 adults so we there was plenty of space for everyone to relax in the spacious rooms and outdoor area. We highly recommend it to anyone going to Coober Pedy. Have already told many of our friends and family. We definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsonjaCarrumDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

I had 8 family members coming to Adelaide from overseas, and every time they visit, we always take them to the usual tourist attractions that Adelaide has to offer. This time, we thought we would do something unusual and drive out to Coober Pedy!

We stayed at the Underground Bed and Breakfast - we were keen on their website that said "one bedroom, two bedrooms, or the the whole shebang (three bedrooms)apartment". Soooooooo typically Australian!

Ken (the owner) went out of his way to make us all feel welcome, from the continual "help yourself" and "make yourselves at home" right down to the "if there is anything else you need, just sing out".

The apartment was just lovely. It had everything that we needed (and more!) and Ken said that if there was something else that we wanted, again, to just sing out. The utensils, manchester, crockery and furnishings were all reasonably new, with little wear and tear.

I would happily recommend this B&B to anyone considering travelling to Coober Pedy - the experience of living underground in THIS apartment was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderful011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed with Ken and Ana during a visit to Coober Pedy. What an experience! Facilities were excellent and having an ensuite whilst underground is an experience to be remembered. Very comfortable accomodation even with young children. Even got to take the children out to visit a working mine site and the surrounds.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoWeThereYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

We were greeted personally by the owners even before we got out of the car they were out the front door. Lots fo helpful hints on how to find opal.
The room was spacious and even temperature control with chocolates and wine in each bedroom.
Located as short distance from town, which was ideal as it was quiet and the night sky ablaze with stars. BBQ and large outdoor poatio area. Homemade beer tasted fantastic.
Even washed the car after a dust storm came through the town. Would go there again.
Great place to fossick for opal potch and some colour.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaidePurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed at the Underground Bed & Breakfast for 2 nights with our 5 kids. We where made to feel totally at home by Ken and Ana. Great hospitality, beautifully decorated rooms, outdoor entertainment area, bbq, spa ...... only regreat is we didn't stay long enough.
What a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HutchoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

We spent 3 nights with our friends at Ken and Ana's Bed and Breakfast in Coober Pedy, and I must say after travelling the world staying at only the best resorts and hotel accommodation, that the level of service, cleanliness and attention to detail is up there with the best! From the spacious bedrooms, large ensuites, extremely comfortable lounge with TV / DVD and ample reading books, internet facilities to the well stocked kitchen with wine, beer, softdrinks, chocolates, and all the breakfast necessities, to the outside area where there is an under cover facility for having barbeques which is airconditioned for summer and has a log heater for winter also a large spa and a second kitchen.Truly fantastic! We also found opal with colour at the front of their property, just to top thing off !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Down to Erth B &B
Down to Erth B &B
#2 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underground Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underground Bed & Breakfast

Property: Underground Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lot 1647 Potch Gly, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Underground Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underground Bed and Breakfast is a five bedroom four bathroom underground home, with its own private entrance. It boasts a lovely undercover parking, barbecue area and spa. Continental breakfast is supplied. The master bedrooms boasts an en-suite while the other two share the main bathroom. There is a Home theatre, television and Internet access. Only 1.5Km from center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Underground Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing