We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Underground Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Welschenrohr
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

We were welcomed by Ken & Ana on the first moment as we arrived on the place. On this place, a warm and friendly atmosphere exists. The B&B is very comfortable and clean. Ken i never forget your own brewed beer. The Evening in the special area is phantastic. I come back if I return an additional time to Australia. A muss if you travel threw Coober Pedy.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissChrigu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
153
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Unique accomodation underground very comfortable and clean. Complimentary SA wine and home brew available spa wonderful after a dusty day exploring the Coober Pedy sights. Congenial hosts, long time locals with many local contacts and wealth of knowledge re town. 2 adult sons very appreciative of computer and internet access. No arguments with 3 TV's. Spacious, kitchen with all amenities. Fabulous for overnight accomodation passing through or as a base for longer stays. We will certainly be back when up that way next.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Ken and Ana are gracious hosts. They were friendly, entertaining and knowledgeable. We were able to explore and see many more of the sites with their guidance. The kids loved fossicking and we found plenty of gems. Staying underground was a great experience. We had a very comfortable stay, the place is in excellent condition, well stocked with all the essentials and very clean. If you are looking for a friendly home away form home holiday adventure put this bed and breakfast at the top of your list. Our only regret was that our schedule did not allow us to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PGHEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

I have travelled extensively overseas and I actually travel to Coober Pedy monthly from Adelaide, South Australia, for business, so think I know the town well. If you are looking for first grade accomadation, and want to get to the heart of underground living with hosts Ken and Ana who still mine for opal,this is for you. The accomadation/dugout is truly a great piece of work and whilst you are underground the facilities are second to none. Comparable to 4-5 star hotel! It is a very unique experience and I recommend it to anyone. Particularly if you are from another country because you will see amazing Coober Pedy the way the residents live it but with extraordinary comfort and incredibly friendly and knowledgable hosts.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lairdy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

We were welcomed by Ken & Ana right from when we got out of our cars to the time we departed. The accommodation presented a unique experience, having never slept underground before. All our needs were catered for. The B&B was spacious, very clean, comfortable with special touches throughout leaving a great impression. The patio area, spa, BBQ and fireplace were added bonuses. But best of all were Ken and Ana and the friendly, helpful and professional service they provided. They really made us feel welcomed and helped us plan our stay. Ken can certainly brew a good beer. The kids felt right at home and they particularly enjoyed noodling in the car park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the B&B and we would definately recommend it and would return again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonta bay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

When visiting or passing through Coober Pedy stay at Ken and Ana's UndergroundBandB. Genuine underground accommodation at very reasonable rates and genuine folk who will help make your stay memorable. As a practising opal miner Ken will explain all the aspects of mining you wish to know. Both are fun loving and very hospitable people.
A true outback experience!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandWMoontaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrum Downs
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

What a BEAUT place to stay. Ken and Ana welcomed us in true Aussie style. They were the most fantastic, friendly people we met on our journey and we really enjoyed their company. Laughed with them as we all told stories and shared life experiences. Met the locals - great bunch. Ken and Ana gave us a list of the great places in Coober Pedy to visit. And for all of the golfers - a must see is the golf course. The accommodation was absolutely beautiful, ensuite is gorgeous. Lots of places to relax. We traveled with 3 teenagers and 3 adults so we there was plenty of space for everyone to relax in the spacious rooms and outdoor area. We highly recommend it to anyone going to Coober Pedy. Have already told many of our friends and family. We definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redsonjaCarrumDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.2 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.1 mi away
Down to Erth B &B
Down to Erth B &B
#2 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underground Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underground Bed & Breakfast

Property: Underground Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lot 1647 Potch Gly, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Underground Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underground Bed and Breakfast is a five bedroom four bathroom underground home, with its own private entrance. It boasts a lovely undercover parking, barbecue area and spa. Continental breakfast is supplied. The master bedrooms boasts an en-suite while the other two share the main bathroom. There is a Home theatre, television and Internet access. Only 1.5Km from center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Underground Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing