We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Was the Most Fun I Had in Coober Pedy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tom's Working Opal Mine

Tom's Working Opal Mine
Ranked #8 of 18 things to do in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Working opal mine situated just 500m north of the town along the Stuart Highway. Open 7 days a week. Guided and self guided tours are available at our large underground reception area. See modern day equipment in action while on a guided tour with our experienced tour guides. Both tours are wheel chair accessible! See our showroom where you can buy souvenirs or high quality opal. We aim to give you an experience you will not forget.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This Was the Most Fun I Had in Coober Pedy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went on the tour, learned a bunch about opal, how it was mined and got to see some samples of what it looks like raw. Afterwards, we had a coffee, and then went out to the large heap outside the entrance and tried our hand at noodling to great success! Nothing too fancy, but some lovely bits with good colour and a great experience to remember. We spent a good three hours out there, in the sun and flies and couldn't believe how much time had passed and how much fun we were having!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissNai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    64
    19
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what it says on the tin”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I don't believe that this is currently a working mine. It may have been at one stage but I expected to see people actually working the mine. We did a self-guided tour and found virtually no information to read. Even the map wasn't worth looking at. Overall, extremely disappointing :(

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boogsaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, NSW
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Really good look at a modern working mine and how they do it today, especially since we had just come from the old-timers mine looking at the old way of mining. The guide was really great and showed us lots about the mine and it workings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwinana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Thanks for the education Ben. You explained everything so simply that even I could understand what you were talking about. I thought you handled the children really very well too. You were so patient.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kwinnychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
264 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We learned a lot from our visit to Tom's Working Opal Mine even without doing the guided tour (we did the self guided one). Learning about how the miners go about locating the opals to extracting, cleaning and polishing them was truly fascinating. The only downside was the "noodling" which comes complete with millions of flies - but we can't fault Tom's for that!

Definitely a "must do" attraction at Coober Pedy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NUFCadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tom's Working Opal Mine also viewed

Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 
Coober Pedy, South Australia
Coober Pedy, South Australia
 

Been to Tom's Working Opal Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing