We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome underground experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome underground experience”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We only stayed here one night on a pass through trip as we wanted to try the underground hotels everyone raves about. We picked the right hotel, the staff were so helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area and mining. The hotel itself and rooms are entirely underground unlike other hotels in the area which claim to be underground. It's positioned perfectly just off the main road and right next to the old timers mine which is another great experience. As soon as we arrived we were shown to our room and given a brief run down of the hotel. After we had made ourselves at home we went to their opal show room and shop we made it known we weren't buying anything and just looking non the less the attendant showed us all the opals found while building the place gave us a complete run down of how opals are made what makes a good opal etc. It was a great experience all round.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    39
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
51
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here because there was no other underground accommodation available when I booked online. For $185 per night, I expected something better for my first below ground experience. There is NO internet access in the rooms. The only place I could get it was the hotel reception area. The television selection was ABC channels only and there are about 5 old DVDs to choose from at reception. The room was dated and looked like it was decorated about 20 years ago. Quite honestly, it felt like a retirement home. I think it is going for a cosy feel but it just feels cheap (cue plastic flowers and beer barrels painted like rainbows) and the place smells weird. It has a lot of potential but no style. The restaurant shuts at 3pm, despite what the welcome brochure says. My advice is go to one of the B&Bs, they look amazing for an underground experience and they are cheaper. The Comfort Inn is worth no more than $140 per night in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Exceptionally clean, fully underground motel just off main street with off-street parking. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, naturally cool and totally quiet for a guaranteed good night's rest. Friendly, family owned business who make a point of remembering you from previous stays. Lots to see as the hotel merges with an old opal mine. Free Wi-Fi internet.  A great experience that you will long remember (my fifth stay over 4 years).

Room Tip: The internal rooms have two walls that are not rock (the others only have one) so they may not be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

A refreshing place to stay especially from the heat. The hosts were very welcoming and we were made to feel at home once shown to our room which was 17 you really did feel underground. The bed was a little hard and worn out but when tired it didnt seem to matter. It was surprising to wake in the morning thinking it was early but finding out it was 10:30am as the rooms were so dark. One thing we did find strange was when we were told what the colourful umbrellas were for as they were place under the ventilation shaft which allowed us fresh air to breathe. What they did was catch the falling debre that would fall down the holes even though their was a lid on top and a lot of little rocks did fall during our two day stay but we got used to it and you shouldnt be concerned about them.

Room Tip: all rooms are good as they are all underground which will allow you to stay cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duanenorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

We were caravanning when we stopped in Coober Pedy for a couple of nights. Whilst we didn't need accommodation we were told not to miss The Comfort Inn if only for a coffee. While it looked like there was no one staying there at the time ( the whole of Coober Pedy was extremely quiet ) , the owners daughter went out of her way to make us feel welcome, was extremely friendly & told us to walk around the beautiful motel for a look & not to miss " the bottle shop" ( a collection of old bottles found when converting the old mine into the motel) whilst she made our coffee. She told us stories of the conversion & opened up her gift & opal shop for us to have a look. Great customer service & I urge others to visit.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rustyandsue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Rooms were clean and well presented. All confrorts as expected though being underground. Were free to walk all around inside and see the history of the place. Far better than the dust bowl of the caravan park we had previously stayed at. Owner was very helpful. Great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
165 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

All rooms underground, a very spacious lounge area that lead to the Rooms, counted i believe 18
The rooms are good standard size and have all facilities that go with a top class hotel. Bathroom good size but hot water was lacking due i suspect to many users at that time in the morning. Breakfast sufficient , Staff friendly really enjoyed our stay, The only drawback it is not easy to find Would we come back for SURE.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noosasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience

Property: Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Address: Crowders Gully Rd, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coober Pedy
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coober Pedy
Coober Pedy Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing