We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended , Great Experience, Hope to Re-visit. SExpensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended , Great Experience, Hope to Re-visit. SExpensive.”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The hotel is magnificent. Carved out of a former opal mine. As well as being a fantastic hotel with very friendly and attentive staff, the history of the hotel (and former Mine) is available to read dotted around the walls, along with some good examples of aboriginal art. Free WiFi is available but due to the thickness and construction of the walls it doesn't travel far from reception. No Vodafone signal out here so I found myself sitting in reception using WiFi and having a chat with a few other visitors, all very sociable. At $320 for a room for the night the hotel is at the upper end of my price range. There quite a few hotels locally so I was surprised how expensive it was in the low season.

They also have a great opal selection which was accumulated during the operation of the mine and also recovered as the hotel was being excavated. We spend about an hour browsing through the beautiful jewelry. There was no obligation to buy and the hotel owner / seller was very knowledgeable about each of the items and their origins. All very fascinating.

We only stayed one night in the hotel but I wish we had stayed longer, Coober Pedy is an amazing place. I didn’t feel at all clostropobic.in the underground mine rooms. I would definitely stay here again (but I would look for a cheaper alternative first. There is ample parking at the front of the hotel.

The owners of the hotel are also involved with the adjacent church. We were interested in looking around this church during a service and th eowners were happy to let us wander around in the basement / old mine working and see some hidden gems. Definitely qorth a quick look.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanVintin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    41
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
57
53
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

After our initial research we contacted a few motels in Coober Pedy with varying results from all to hard to our contact with Debby on reception at Comfort Inn Coober Pedy Experience where nothing was too much to ask.
From our initial contact through to our arrival nothing was too much trouble and information to assist us enjoy our stay and make the most of our time in Coober Pedy a pleasant experience was made available.
We had two family style rooms which were both spacious and comfortable, beds were comfortable room facilities were clean & functional, additional supplies of tea, coffee & milk were always on hand when requested. There was a lounge area outside our rooms which we made good use of as did a few other guests who joined us in the evening for some R & R
The information obtained from Debbie & her family was invaluable, from where to go sightseeing to shopping & eat all recommendations were on the mark we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the motel & Coober Pedy in general.
The tour of the premises was a nice added bonus to see how it had evolved from mine to accommodation Ben our tour guide had his work cut out as six of our group spoke limited English however with his patience & through a family interpreter everyone thoroughly enjoyed it.
It was our first time to this accommodation and to Coober Pedy, hopefully not the last to either.
Highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJourneyMan812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Coming in to Coober Pedy was like arriving on a lunar landscape.The Stuart Highway is surrounded on both sides by white earth/stone -the vestiges from opal mining.The day was scorching ,47 degrees celsius, and we were looking for a cool spot to escape the heat. Finding the Comfort Inn was the equivalent to an oasis appearing in the desert! The owners were very welcoming and knowledgeable.
Whilst it was 47 degrees celsius outside our underground rooms were 25 degrees and very cooling.
The rooms are set up with a double and single bed.All very clean with ensuite bathrooms,a fridge and television. The excavation of the motel must have been a mammoth undertaking and guests can follow it's history with information on the walls.You can also see some of the caves and plans for it's future.
The proprietors were very helpful,informing us of local sightseeing areas and places to dine etc.We chose the local italian cafe?Johnnies.This is a pizzeria extraordinaire.The food is fresh and the prices are reasonable.Judging by the custom it's a popular place for the locals.The walls are strewn with pictures/photos of celebrities who have visited Coober Pedy-including Dawn Fraser and Chopper Reid!!
We went up to a lookout which gives a great vantage point to the area.
Overall Coober Pedy is like the last of the wild outback frontier towns.It deserves more time than the 24 hours we stayed.We plan to go back there some time soon.
It is definitely worth seeing and the underground experience is worth the expense.
About $180-00 for a couple per night.:)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazyviewlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Underground Opel mines converted into hotel rooms! Something I will remember for ever. Though underground, the rooms are clean comparable to any good above ground hotel rooms. Yet unique with no windows but cool and clean. You get dust falling through bathroom exhaust fan outlet - but should see this as a feature of underground living. Very personal service by the family that owns the hotel.

Room Tip: If you need two rooms ask for one with internal connect door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShankarSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We only stayed here one night on a pass through trip as we wanted to try the underground hotels everyone raves about. We picked the right hotel, the staff were so helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area and mining. The hotel itself and rooms are entirely underground unlike other hotels in the area which claim to be underground. It's positioned perfectly just off the main road and right next to the old timers mine which is another great experience. As soon as we arrived we were shown to our room and given a brief run down of the hotel. After we had made ourselves at home we went to their opal show room and shop we made it known we weren't buying anything and just looking non the less the attendant showed us all the opals found while building the place gave us a complete run down of how opals are made what makes a good opal etc. It was a great experience all round.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here because there was no other underground accommodation available when I booked online. For $185 per night, I expected something better for my first below ground experience. There is NO internet access in the rooms. The only place I could get it was the hotel reception area. The television selection was ABC channels only and there are about 5 old DVDs to choose from at reception. The room was dated and looked like it was decorated about 20 years ago. Quite honestly, it felt like a retirement home. I think it is going for a cosy feel but it just feels cheap (cue plastic flowers and beer barrels painted like rainbows) and the place smells weird. It has a lot of potential but no style. The restaurant shuts at 3pm, despite what the welcome brochure says. My advice is go to one of the B&Bs, they look amazing for an underground experience and they are cheaper. The Comfort Inn is worth no more than $140 per night in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Exceptionally clean, fully underground motel just off main street with off-street parking. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, naturally cool and totally quiet for a guaranteed good night's rest. Friendly, family owned business who make a point of remembering you from previous stays. Lots to see as the hotel merges with an old opal mine. Free Wi-Fi internet.  A great experience that you will long remember (my fifth stay over 4 years).

Room Tip: The internal rooms have two walls that are not rock (the others only have one) so they may not be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience

Property: Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Address: Crowders Gully Rd, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coober Pedy
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coober Pedy
Coober Pedy Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing