We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This place is truly astounding. An experience unlike any other in all my travels across the globe. The only disappointment I had was that we couldn't stay longer than the 3 nights we had booked.

Just amazing.

We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrobenandemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    39
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
51
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Was meet at reception by Debbie and she showed my wife and family to a room to see what being underground was like.
The room was very cleans and cool. Free wifi was good for the kids as was the patience gown by Debbie in answering all of our questions.
Great experience and very family orientated.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights while on a work trip. Debby and her family could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful - catering to our every request no matter how large or small. The hotel itself is clean and spacious with thoughtful touches everywhere, and it's great to have the real underground living experience while staying in Coober Pedy. I cannot recommend the Comfort Inn highly enough - it really is THE place to stay if you're passing through.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaonline79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed for one night on a road trip around central Australia. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly.
What we liked is we only had one night in Cobber Pedy we could experience the life underground and seeing a mine without having to pay for a tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
888 reviews
485 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 948 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Using our Choice Privileges award points, we booked a night at the "Experience" on our way from Port Augusta to Ayers Rock. Coober Pedy is an interesting place and, if you're doing that drive, a must-see. We were extremely pleased by this hotel as it is exactly the quirky, underground experience you want to have while you're in town. The entire motel is built in the dug out rock -- and there are tunnels and tunnels of stuff. And they're still expanding! This is a cave motel that you will definitely never forget.

We were fortunate that the parents who built the motel were on duty that night (I think their adult daughter normally runs the place, she was out of town) and we got great service and a fantastic tour from the father. He couldn't be more proud of his "master work," and he had a lot to be proud of. I can't imagine the effort that went into creating this oasis in the rock, and you can tell that he was one highly-motivated individual. That motivation went into running a very comfortable well-run motel. This had to be among the most comfortable caves in the world!

We ordered take out from John's Pizza and ate at our cave room's dining table. I'd recommend doing the same.

Overall, the most interesting place we stayed in Australia and a highlight of our trip.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Comfort In and found it to be a wonderfull place.Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We can reccomend tis as the place to stay ,No noise , very differant from you normal Motel Stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Comfort Inn and it has everything you need to make for a great Coober Pedy underground experience. Friendly helpful staff, comfortable rooms and an experience our children will not forget. Go ahead and book.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience

Property: Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Address: Crowders Gully Rd, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Coober Pedy
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coober Pedy
Coober Pedy Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing