We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desert View Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Desert Cave Hotel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Opal Inn(Coober Pedy)
US$117
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Underground Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Underground Bed & Breakfast(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venushill B&B(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Down to Erth B &B(Coober Pedy)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
103
73
16
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
73
16
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthese apartmentsstayed herebedroom apartmentkitchen diningcook mealsfull size fridgefree in room wifigreat apartmentsexcellent familyfriendly ownersa king size bedswimming poollarge kitchenlarge lounge areaalice springsunderground experienceno air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights in mid-August. A bit nervous about sleeping underground - I was so wrong! It's dark and it's quiet. Best sleep ever. The beds were comfortable. Kitchen well-stocked with all the essential equipment to cook pretty much anything you want . Tony and Linda were just amazingly lovely and ensured we had a great stay in Coober Pedy.
Next time I'm up that way, I would definitely make them my first choice of place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenzi6975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at the Desert View Apartments on our way to Alice Springs in June, and what a brilliant welcome Tony & Linda gave us, so hospitable and friendly, the roadhouses on the way up should take a leaf out of their book. We had a very enjoyable stay, and were very impressed with the exceptionally clean, warm & unique underground apartments. All facilities including the bbq and pool have been well maintained. It is definitely a credit to both Tony and Linda.
We had a terrific time at the Fink Dessert race (highly recommended) then when we headed back we were really looking forward to another very comfortable nights stay in that waveless waterbed, the best night sleep I have had in ages. Tony’s sense of humour coupled with a brilliant atmosphere and an awesome location, what a terrific underground experience to have. My wife and I would highly recommend staying here, our opinion is we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Best Regards Paul & Leanne O'Leary

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My husband and myself had the pleasure to stay 2 nights in May and made sure that we again stayed on our way back home to Adelaide after our trip to Darwin for another two nights. We highly recommend this Motel as Tony & Linda are so friendly and the accommodation was very comfortable and also being able to have a bon fire at night overlooking The Breakaways was awesome. We definately will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights on the way to Uluru. We couldn't have received a warmer welcome from Tony and Linda. Both were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Truly an experience staying in the side of a hill not to mention the gorgeous sunrise/sunsets when the whole of Coober Pedy looks like an opal. Fabulous quiet position, great views, comfortable, spacious accomodation. We stayed for another night on the way back home and were warmly welcomed back. Thankyou so much Tony and Linda.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Over night on way back from APY Lands for work. Have travelled a lot through the bush but this place is truly good value. The rooms are quite large, plenty of space for a family and the natural light is good during the day. Come dusk the back bed rooms are dark as a cave and so quiet. Slept an hour past normal wake up time. Tony is a wonderful host, this underground apartment setup is well worth staying at. Very cold day (yes it does get cold in Coober Pedy) but rooms were warm due to being dugout. Two thumbs up. Not a five star place but definately five star value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews