We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dugout living”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert View Apartments
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed twice at this motel in Coober Pedy as we drove to & from Alice Springs. We have stayed several times before also. We love the experience of very roomy underground living in traditional Coober Pedy living. It is fascinating that the temperature remains constant & comfortable all year round. There are ceiling fans if you want them. It is also perfectly quiet and pitch dark with the lights out. The kitchen is near the door & is lit from outside - bedrooms are at the back. Very roomy, friendly owners - we like it.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty much the same - very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ratty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to coober pedy and desert view apartments, they are still by far the best value in town. Massive 2 bedroom apartments, clean, well equipped and great hosts. Of course being dugouts the bedrooms are completly dark and silent which is blissfull.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank msga12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and found the apartments spacious and well equipped. They are a family owned and operated business, both Linda and Tony were generous, accommodating and helpful during our stay. I wish more hotel owners were like these guys!! The children also had fun playing in tunnels, on a trampoline and swing set... I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vettsonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Great apartments, spacious and clean. Best views in town from the entry overlooking the Breakaways. Tony and Linda are very hospitable and helpful owners of this Golden Chain property. It was amazing to sleep underground. i.e. cut into hillside. Great value for money and well worth the visit allow 4 days to see most around. No need for air con or heating as always approx. 24 degrees in rooms. We stayed in rm 3 ( I think) with parking outside apartment. Will return again but you must have transport as no public transport in town and Telstra is the only mobile carrier with service.

Room Tip: all rooms are good. make sure your party informs of the number as there are different size apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank personalchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were travelling in our camper van, but with the temperature soaring at 42 degs, decided to find an underground place to stay. We were thrilled with Desert View Apartments; the owners were very friendly, a delightful family with two small children and a super cat, Buffy. We were offered a large underground apartment that was very well equipped with everything necessary to self cater. As there were only two restaurants open in the entire town, we figured this was a good option. The apartment was clean, with tv, dvd, comfy bed, radio with alarm! Best of all was a swimming pool, not huge, but VERY welcome for cooling the blood.

Tony suggested a few places to visit and this we did, all great.

The rates per night were extremely competitive and we would not hesitate to recommend it to weary travellers.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Convalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

After driving from Alice Springs on a 32 degree day - with a 2 & 4 y.o - only to discover our previous hotel's pool was out of order, it was such a lovely surprise to stumble across this gem in Coober Pedy. The owners were so friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble and our kids loved the swing set and tunnels - plus they have a really cold swimming pool (only about waist-deep, but very refreshing)! The view from the driveway at sunset is lovely, with the hills changing to a pretty pink. The apartments are very comfortable, with everything you need for a self-catering holiday, and because the rooms are underground, they are lovely and cool, no matter how hot it is outside. We are heading back up the Stuart Highway in a week and will definitely be staying here again! Best place in Coober Pedy for families for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willijaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

After spending almost 2 months here this place has been a home away from home. Tony and Linda went above and beyond to make sure that my stay was pleasant. The rooms are equipped with everything you need for cooking, relaxation and much more and I would highly recommend The Desert View Apartments to anyone and everyone. Its located far enough from the main part of town to take in the relaxation that only the outback of Australia can offer but close enough that you don’t feel isolated. The pool area is a lifesaver during the warmer days also.

I’d give it a definite 10/10!

Jamie

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie1983s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert View Apartments

Address: Shaw Pl, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £68 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert View Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Desert View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Coober Pedy
Coober Pedy Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing