We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, good value, great staff”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed in an above-ground, en-suite room. It was ideal as a base to explore the town and to access tours without the need of a car. Restaurants were also very close. The room was clean and comfortable. It had all I that needed for a short stay, including aircon and fridge. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Thank you for adding to a very enjoyable holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    46
    27
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
41
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This place is actually quite a cool place to stay as it's underground, staff really really helpful,spotless clean, off street parking, tv room, big kitchen. Only downside....not very secure as no door on your room, lack of powerpoints in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycamper12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Excellent clean set up to capital city standard. Well managed by friendly, helpful staff. All services at your fingertips and within walking distance.

Room Tip: Bunk accommodation are separate caverns within a larger vault. Absolutely serendipitous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooma, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at Radeka's as my husband was working in Coober Pedy and I was staying for a week with him. We stayed in the basic room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities clean. Sharing the kitchen was great as you got to meet other travellers. The establishment is in the centre of town so no need to get the car out all the time. Safe secure parking. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2011susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

First of all, before I launch into a tirade, let me just say that despite the terrible motel, the lady who checked us in was actually very nice.

We were attracted to the hotel by the fact it advertised itself as underground, and my girlfriend and I thought it would be fun to sleep underground.

First of all, the place was absolutely chockers full of Korean and Japanese tourists. Now that wouldn't bother me per se, but they were all travelling in a big group, and completely took over the kitchen and the lounge room and the tv, and were extremely loud.

Also, THE LOWER ROOMS HAVE NO POWER OUTLETS. None. Zero. In fact, we scouted around underground and couldn't find a single powerpoint that wasn't being used for anything essential. That meant that in order to charge my mobile phone and use my laptop, I had to go upstairs and wait for the huge group of Japanese tourists to finish with the power points that they all had their electrical gizmos plugged in. Eventually I decided it was less trouble to just go sit in the car with the engine running to charge my phone.

Our 'room' was really just two beds in a hallway with plywood dividers up 3/4 of the wall. We could hear everything the people in the other 'rooms' were saying, and we couldn't get any privacy for ourselves, either. We also didn't get much sleep because the huge group of tourists were giggling and chatting all night and the sound really travels.

At least the temperature of the room was pleasant.

The undergroundness of the hotel was ruined by the fact every five metres there was a sign about what we shouldn't be doing. I'm not kidding, there are bossy signs everywhere (and by the way, it appears no one obeys them). The miner's staircase was pretty cool, but, again, ruined by an exit sign and a million placards warning us to not do x.

The toilets are unisex. The showers and the toilets are also together, so that meant that you could enjoy a series of 'lovely' aromas while trying to wash your hair.

Horribly overrated, definitely not worth the money we paid. Would have been better off putting up our tent somewhere.

Needless to say, we left the next day and will not be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Asynca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed here one night because we wanted to experience the underground rooms they offered. The rooms were very unique, like everyone says and the kitchen's great. The only thing we did not like were the staff, or in this case, the man that dealt with us. The main room upstairs where we check in stunk of smoke. We called saying we might be late and he said we could not be later than 8pm otherwise we would have no room. When we got there, we were surprised as he could have just left us the code to get in, but did not go beyond what he needed to do.
I think the worst was that there was a couple that arrived shortly after us who broke down on the side of the highway. They were brought there and the guy said they were fully booked. In our room we had one spare bed and there were tons in other spots. Way to help out, eh?
If I did it again, which would be awesome, I would look at a different underground hotel and there are tons there.

Room Tip: All the dorms are the open, if you want privacy pay more for an actual room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchan264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We opted to stay here because we wanted to experience the underground accommodation. This is a great place, friendly staff, clean kitchen eating area. The underground bedrooms are quirky and most run off a main corridor so can be a little noisey but I still slept like a log. it did get quite cool at night underground but it was a relief from the searing daytime temperatures.
Only minutes from the Greyhound bus depot too. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.7 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
2.1 mi away
Venushill B&B
Venushill B&B
#3 of 4 in Coober Pedy
16 reviews
1.2 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn

Property: Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Address: 1 Oliver St, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is located in the centre of Coober Pedy, on the town's main street.The Underground accommodation is located between the BP and Mobil service stations and has a red digital time/temperature display above the motel/hostel entrance."Live Like a Local" by experiencing living 3.5m or 6.5m underground at Radeka Downunder. "Warm in Winter, Cool in Summer".3 choices of accommodation are available; 3.5 metres underground motel rooms with private en suite, 6.5 metres underground budget rooms and open dorms with shared bathroom and toilet facilities or air-conditioned above ground motel rooms with private en suite.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers a courtesy bus pick up and drop off at the local bus station for Greyhound passengers and local airport for Regional Express passengers and travelling pilots.Free secure on-site parking is available, and motor bikes and push bikes can be placed under cover. Communal Facilities Include: a fully equipped Kitchen, TV/Dining Room, coin operated Washing Machine & Dryer, Residential Bar & Souvenir/Gift Shop. Several restaurants are two to five minutes' walk away.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is suitable for any age group, nationality, families, couples, singles, friends travelling together, contractors and student groups.Run as a family business, Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers half day tours of Coober Pedy, the opal fields and the scenic Breakaways.ALL tours are available morning and afternoon depending on public demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing