We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Coober Pedy character!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Real Coober Pedy character!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Just spent a very enjoyable & comfortable 6 days in one of the underground motel rooms approx 3mts underground. Very comfortable & convenient to the town & attractions. Complimentary night sky tour was great as we're the other tours that they offer. Very friendly staff @ I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    48
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
42
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great staff! Very friendly and accomodating! Really helpful with tips about Coober Pedy and free things to do as well! Got a bit of a surprise with the room, stayed in a 'budget room' a dorm for $35.. There are no doors, just a hole in the wall which makes it very noisy and hard to sleep. Room however was nice and dark and warm :) All in all, I would stay there again if I was passing through Coober Pedy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, SA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Booked to stay here enroute to Alice Springs....initially only two of us and wanted to stay in an "Underground" motel to cross another thing off our bucket list....when we arrived and informed staff we had an extra, they were most accommodating and our room was just fantastic after a long drive from Adelaide.
We enjoyed it so much here, we booked for our return journey.
There's a room priced for every budget.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 which is clearly big enough for a family. Dark at night makes for great sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_Boyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed at Radekas for 1 nights on my way through to Adelaide from the Simpson desert and wished i had planned to stay longer! Lovely friendly welcome when i arrived and i was loaded with info about some great things to do in my short time in CP. A great experience staying underground in one of the dorm rooms , the place has so much character! Comfy beds, clean showers and a huge kitchen all added to my great time , would definitely recommend this place and would love to come back and stay again one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecGx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

we stayed at radeka's after a very long and tiring trip from adelaide, as soon as we got there we had the friendliest welcoming, martin the manager was so helpful and could'nt have done any more for us. very impressed and we enjoyed our stay in the cool cave. highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

A nice affordable alternative in Coober Pedy. The owner/manager Martin was very helpful and was able to arrange spur of the moment underground accommodation for me and even gave me directions to a great location for stargazing. I highly recommend this establishment, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

The place is amazing, the room are very cool in the night, the facility realy convenient and the staff is really really helpfull. our car died and they did all they could do to help us. Thanks a lot !
We definitely recommend the place !

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.7 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
2.1 mi away
Venushill B&B
Venushill B&B
#3 of 4 in Coober Pedy
18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn

Property: Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Address: 1 Oliver St, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is located in the centre of Coober Pedy, on the town's main street.The Underground accommodation is located between the BP and Mobil service stations and has a red digital time/temperature display above the motel/hostel entrance."Live Like a Local" by experiencing living 3.5m or 6.5m underground at Radeka Downunder. "Warm in Winter, Cool in Summer".3 choices of accommodation are available; 3.5 metres underground motel rooms with private en suite, 6.5 metres underground budget rooms and open dorms with shared bathroom and toilet facilities or air-conditioned above ground motel rooms with private en suite.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers a courtesy bus pick up and drop off at the local bus station for Greyhound passengers and local airport for Regional Express passengers and travelling pilots.Free secure on-site parking is available, and motor bikes and push bikes can be placed under cover. Communal Facilities Include: a fully equipped Kitchen, TV/Dining Room, coin operated Washing Machine & Dryer, Residential Bar & Souvenir/Gift Shop. Several restaurants are two to five minutes' walk away.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is suitable for any age group, nationality, families, couples, singles, friends travelling together, contractors and student groups.Run as a family business, Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers half day tours of Coober Pedy, the opal fields and the scenic Breakaways.ALL tours are available morning and afternoon depending on public demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing