We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

The first thing you're presented with when checking in is a page full of unfriendly rules and regulations - not very welcoming. The dorm rooms have no doors and being underground sparsely furnished everything echoes and the noise travels. I was kept awake until the early hours by a group talking at the other end of the passage. The main toilets are situated outside the locked door so it's a bother entering the code each time and there's hardly any shelving to put toiletries on. The most astonishing thing is that the other dorm rooms were all completely empty yet a new arrival was placed in my dorm instead of just letting us each have a dorm to ourselves. It's this small town thinking that is most peculiar. The other thing upon arrival was that I was asked if I had my own sleeping bag (I didn't) and then reluctantly was handed a single sheet. I won't stay here again. The novelty of underground accommodation is short lived.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Cherrynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed there one night in an underground dorm. Be prepared that the dorms don't have doors, but are open to the aisle. Dorms, facilities and kitchen were very clean and well equipped. The owner was very helpful with organising a tour around town and introducing me to some locals. The hostel is within walking distance to the Greyhound station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mika_1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We, a family of four, arrived very late and all rooms were full. We were allocated a 'room' with four beds underground with no door. As we had many luggugages, for safety sake, we could not do things together - for example, moving luggages, cooking, eating, etc. as the kitchen, carparks all are at the ground level. We also could not find a space at the carpark designated for the customers and had to park more far away and not so secure. We also were not aware that blankets were not included (supposed we had to bring our own sleep bags/blankets). Though ultimately, we could rent the blankets. The experience was much better when we stayed again at the return trip from Ayers Rock. We got a room with door. Blankets were provided free. Carpark space was available and the reception was more friendly.

Room Tip: Have to check in earlier to get a room with door. Pack the things you need for the stay separately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Only stayed overnight in double bed room but found Rooms comfortable and clean . kitchen area was also very clean and staff very friendly. My wife and I found it quite interesting staying underground and right in the middle of town

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed in one of Radekas' motel rooms. Fluorescent lights, linoleum floors, and just enough space to turn around in. But we didn't come expecting the Ritz. We came expecting the Coober Pedy subterranean experience, and that is what we got!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emerald-City N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

1. Loud, don’t go there if you want to sleep, basically the dorms and the rooms are all in one cave with flimsy walls separating the more expensive rooms. The walls aren’t sufficient to stop the noise. Upstairs rooms are next to the toilets and external security doors which slam every time someone goes in or out. From the rooms you can hear every conversation in the showers, people in the toilet and even the neighbor snoring. The racket goes on until everyone has showered and gone to bed, 1am in our case and starts again as soon as someone gets up, 6am.
2. Once he has your money the owner isn’t interested in managing the noise sweeping it all under the carpet by saying “it’s budget accommodation” as if budget accommodation equals poor standards.
3. There weren’t enough showers and toilets. 40 people, 3 hand basins, 3 toilets, 4 showers.
4. Facilities are unisex.
On the other hand the receptionist was extremely helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable. She gave us a complete run down on everything to do in town, outstanding.

Room Tip: Make sure to have a look at the rooms, they were unwilling to show us the rooms and I guess that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gringo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Traveling around Aus it was time to stop at Coober and as i have been here before (on a quick stop over) this place was the one spot i had in mind to stay again.
we had 3 people in our party this time and so we booked a budget room that accommodated all 3 of us. the room was very spacious and the beds where comfortable. we booked in to stay for 2 nights and on our first night we had a small problem with the guests in the room beside us. so first thing in the morning we headed up top to reception and checked if another room could be sourced. as it turns out the guests in the room beside us where checking out and the owner then rebooked the room so that it was left empty for us so we could have a quieter night. (and we did) we also booked in for a tour and all enjoyed. we will be back again soon and this place will be our first stop. if your looking for Hilton style accommodation then pack your Louis Vuitton suitcase and move on, this place isn't for you. but if your a real Aussie (or visitor) and want to experience what real life underground is like then this IS the stop for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.1 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.2 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn

Address: 1 Oliver St, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £38 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is located in the centre of Coober Pedy, on the town's main street.The Underground accommodation is located between the BP and Mobil service stations and has a red digital time/temperature display above the motel/hostel entrance."Live Like a Local" by experiencing living 3.5m or 6.5m underground at Radeka Downunder. "Warm in Winter, Cool in Summer".3 choices of accommodation are available; 3.5 metres underground motel rooms with private en suite, 6.5 metres underground budget rooms and open dorms with shared bathroom and toilet facilities or air-conditioned above ground motel rooms with private en suite.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers a courtesy bus pick up and drop off at the local bus station for Greyhound passengers and local airport for Regional Express passengers and travelling pilots.Free secure on-site parking is available, and motor bikes and push bikes can be placed under cover. Communal Facilities Include: a fully equipped Kitchen, TV/Dining Room, coin operated Washing Machine & Dryer, Residential Bar & Souvenir/Gift Shop. Several restaurants are two to five minutes' walk away.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is suitable for any age group, nationality, families, couples, singles, friends travelling together, contractors and student groups.Run as a family business, Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers half day tours of Coober Pedy, the opal fields and the scenic Breakaways.ALL tours are available morning and afternoon depending on public demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing