We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desert Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed there recently with some friends from Germany and it was a great experience. The underground rooms are very classy and comfortable, the staff are great. There is plenty of secure off street parking and there is also an
excellent restaurant. It is the equal of anywhere I have stayed before including overseas hotels.
I would certainly stay there again and would highly recommend it to anyone considering staying in Coober Pedy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    94
    45
    19
    8
See reviews for
37
105
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prosser, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This seemed outrageously priced, although, I'm sure most things in Coober Pedy are expensive (water, electricity, etc). Stayed in an underground room, which really does seem like the thing to do if you're visiting Coober Pedy. However, the room was stuffy, kinda warm (no AC unit in the room--supposedly not needed, but it felt like it could use one), outdated furniture and bedding, and the rocks! The walls pelted us with small rocks and dust all night. It was amusing, but also, kind of frustrating to leave things out and have to constantly knock rock dust off them--our room obviously needed a re-sealing. Heard from some locals most people complain about their stay here, and that the owner, while well-liked and known around town--hasn't done any upgrades to the hotel since it was built. Seemed obvious.

We did enjoy our lunch at the crystal cafe (affordable and tasty), found the staff extremely helpful and funny, and enjoyed the underground tunnel full of information. The location is central, so makes it easy to shop the street (except for the damn flies).

If I were to return this would not be my first choice, but I also wouldn't be completely put out if it was the only thing offered--oh, we had forgotten our bathing suits, but the pool looked awesome.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an underground room. Heard nothing but bad things on the upper floors--if you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OSF35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Although it is a long time since I stayed in this unique hotel I shall always remember the unique experience of staying in a room many meters underground in total silence and dark when you put the lights out. I stayed here as part of a 5 week tour of the country in January 1999. It is not for people whose idea of a hotel is five star luxury, but it is quite unique ... with rooms drilled underground out of solid rock. The service extended to the owner getting up at 5am on Christmas Day to drive me back to the Greyhound bus terminal, for which I am very grateful!

Room Tip: Make sure you get an underground room. It is the whole point of staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

One visit was not enough! arrived at this hotel late at night after a long drive from Adelaide and received a warm welcome from a very nice man called Pandu.Had one of the underground rooms which was big, comfortable and clean. Breakfast next morning was fine. checked out and agreed that we might go back on way back to Adelaide which we done only to be greeted by the wonderful Pandu once again only to get an even better underground room than last time. Fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Booked in at the last minute and were lucky enough to get an above ground room with air conditioning and a rollaway bed that a very disgruntled older lady pushed into our room half an hour after I'd been told to give them 10mins to prepare our room with the extra bed. Perhaps a new model fan would have blown better...it barely worked. The 'queen' sized bed turned out to be two single beds pushed together. Very uncomfortable to sleep on. The shower needed a good scrub and there were ants in the top drawer in our room that contained the tea, coffee and sugar.
We went for breakfast in the morning at the cafe. The staff were extremely unfriendly and the meal was extremely overpriced for what was served. We saw one man come in and the lady told him to take. Seat and she'd be with him shortly only for him to walk out 10mins later because she totally ignored him.
All in all very unfriendly staff who don't value their employment or their customers. Would not pay the money to stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coober Pedy hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This place definitely has more of a hotel feel rather than motel. Rooms are large and comfortable. We called ahead and negotiated a cash price for the room and we thought it was good value. Although the car park isn't locked, we felt that coober pedy had cleaned up a bit since our last visit in 2010 so weren't too worried about it. Stayed again on the return journey.

Skip the restaurant and bar, go for something with more character and better value in town. Do visit the opal shop, the sales assistant there is a delight.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brsakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Augusta, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The car thermometer read 43C and camping overnight in the camper trailer was dismissed. We arrived and were greeted by friendly staff that invited us to check the room was to our liking prior to staying. We chose an underground room and were impressed with its coolness and comfort. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant with excellent service and were refreshed to continue our journey the next day. The room was clean and sleeping was easy in the dark and quiet room.

Room Tip: Check out the underground room options. Perhaps not to everyones liking but a good experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroy528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Cave Hotel

Property: Desert Cave Hotel
Address: Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Cave Hotel is the world's only underground international hotel. We're located at Coober Pedy, which since 1915 has lured those who seek the elusive opal, found in this vast outback semi-desert area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Desert Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Cave Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing