We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty old needs an overhaul”
Review of Desert Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desert Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dirty old needs an overhaul”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

For our first visit to Coober Pedy on our way to Alice Springs we decided to stay at an "above ground" motel. I picked the "most stars" but I think 4 stars to them means "stars in the sky" nothing to do with the hotel's cleanliness. We booked a room with a king bed. As soon as we opened the door the smell of mould wafted past our noses. The towels were tea towel size and the shower was so dirty it felt like we were walking on slime. A bit of Exit Mould wouldn't go astray. The restaurant was very ordinary for such an expensive price. $35 for a main course - it was barely edible. The breakfast dishes in the morning were filthy, as if they had never been cleaned properly. There were a lot of "locals" hanging around the hotel which made me feel a bit unsafe as most of them were drunk. On our way back we stayed at the Mud Hut Motel which was 100 times better and much cheaper.

Room Tip: a tip for a good room is find another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nvcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    97
    47
    20
    8
See reviews for
40
111
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you are looking for something different,this is a must.even travelling to this hotel by plane is an experience and once you get there and have checked into your room,you still can't quite believe what you are experiencing.the sleep was amazing and even though we only stayed one night it's something that we will never forget.

Room Tip: Must stay in an underground room....all are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfred172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

2 nights 17/18th May 2014
By far this has to be the nicest looking motel in town. We were in room 11 an underground room and the 2nights cost us $528 including a hot breakfast of eggs, bacon, hash brown, tomato and mushies. You can also have cereal, fruit and yoghurt, coffee and tea and make your own toast.
Underground doesn't necessarily mean down it means in the side of a mound.
Room is quite spacious with a welcoming king size bed (something I have missed on our trip)
The walls are natural looking but I think glazed over to stop them from flaking. No windows make it's extremely dark when the lights are off and also very stuffy and quite warm. We slept on top of the sheets no need for covers. But a wall fan helps move the air around but it is very noisy. There is a small table with 2 chairs, a single sofa, half wardrobe, cupboard housing a reasonable size fridge with mini bar, tea/coffee making, cutlery etc and a few drawers. Tv on top with extremely limited stations, no cable. I think wifi is available at a cost. The bathroom is a reasonable size with wall dispensers in the shower and basin as well as the complimentary toiletries. The exhaust fan isn't all that strong so if someone uses the loo you need to give it some time to clear, no window to help.
We left at 7:00am this morning returned at 12:30 and thought our room would be made up but house keeping didn't come around until 2:15pm not sure if this is normal but we thought it should of been done earlier.
They do have a few light meals on the menu for room service such as bowl of fries, noodles and nasi goreng and pasta. ($10 meals and a $5 tray charge)
Enjoying our stay. If you don't like small places and no windows I'd recommend staying in their above ground rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

You want a different experience for a place to stay in the outback? This is it. Lovely clean rooms, beds made up daily and the room and bathroom cleaned with fresh towels. I stayed above ground, upstairs. The view was great. However, there are no lifts and lots of steps to take to the top, would be a bit difficult for someone with a walking impairment. Staff will assist with carrying up bags. The staff weren't really friendly but at least polite. There is plenty of parking and location is central...busy pizza restaurant is across the road and other restaurants all within walking distance. The hotel has it's own restaurant, menu is not cheap but the food and service is fantastic. The hotel's café is great. I had lunch there everyday because the salads are so fresh and meat so tasty and priced around $10 or a bit more. Great value! Everyday I tried a different meal and the chef is friendly. A huge breakfast range. Café is a must visit. Lovely ambience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel was very good, very comfortable , lovely underground rooms. Walls had a lot of fall out onto bed and cupboards, no security parking or locked gates at night , which was a bit worrying! I found the hotel to be overpriced and staff very bland.

Room Tip: Check around as there are quite good underground hotels that are cheaper with good service. Air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarimBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel clean and staff helpful, you have to have an underground room for the full experience, it's expensive but what the hey.
Be aware that part of the experience is that because the temperature underground only varies from 23 - 25 degrees they do not have heating or airconditioning but remember this is part of what you signed up for.

Room Tip: Underground room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed there recently with some friends from Germany and it was a great experience. The underground rooms are very classy and comfortable, the staff are great. There is plenty of secure off street parking and there is also an
excellent restaurant. It is the equal of anywhere I have stayed before including overseas hotels.
I would certainly stay there again and would highly recommend it to anyone considering staying in Coober Pedy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Opal Inn
Opal Inn
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Cave Hotel

Property: Desert Cave Hotel
Address: Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Cave Hotel is the world's only underground international hotel. We're located at Coober Pedy, which since 1915 has lured those who seek the elusive opal, found in this vast outback semi-desert area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Cave Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing