We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, well priced, friendly staff.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coober Pedy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Underground Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Well worth what you pay for a room here. The room was clean, the shower was good and the service was amazing. The in-room breakast was thoughtful and everything we hoped for. While there's no mobilephone signal indoors, you just have to walk outside 10 metres and you're sorted. The lack of windows was more than made up for by the way the rooms are set out. A really unique and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VisitingBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

We arrived here on a 40+ degree day and found the rooms to be a very comfortable cool temperature even without air condtioning and were able to sleep with just the ceiling fan on.
The rooms are built into the side of a hill and are accessible through a central hallway, the motel had a suprisingly unique, relaxed atmosphere with a bit of a Mexican theme, not stale and boring like most other motels in this price range. The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable and a good size, with room for a small sofa and a kitchenette along one side containing a bar fridge, sink, toaster, kettle etc.The bathroom was modern with a large vanity sink but not much space for toiletries.The motel is located at the top of a hill and there is undercover parking and a nice area for sitting outside under the verandah and enjoying the view.Overall a great place to stay for a short stop over or a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Driving from Darwin to Canberra via Alice Springs, Ayres Rock, Adelaide and the Great Ocean road. My wife and three teenage children stayed in one of the Undergrond Motel's family rooms. Even thogh the owners were away the people who were looking after the motel looked after us very well. A friendly welcome at reception, we were informed of a couple of great local attractions and were even given a 10% discount card for Johns Pizza bar. I was very surprised when we got shown our room, the reviews said they were extremely clean (which it was) butbthe photos on the web page do not do he rooms justice. Very well laid out, great decoration and fantastic value for money. Enough bread, milk cereals for the family to have breakfast and jars of tea and coffee to keep you going. If your heading up or down the track, or going direct to Coober Pedy, stay in this motel and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BazFalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The current website does not really do this accomodation justice...but obviously did enough to get us there! The location is great as it's not right on the main street, but still close enough to access facilities. The view from the hill top is great; a real selling point. The accomodation is very clean and well maintained, and the staff are REALLY friendly and helpful. Added to all this, the price is pretty competitive. If I were to stay in Coober Pedy again, it would definately be here! The shared kitchen is really nice too....modern industrial feel...

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the front that has a window...which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The underground motel is a very nice place to stay. The rooms are small but nice and very clean. Outside there are tables to sit and there is a great view. You can use the kitchen as well.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

A great place to stay, memorable underground experience and spotlessly clean. We appreciated the way in which we were made to feel very welcome and the various tips Mike gave us of what to see and do.

Mike and Mersey even picked us up and dropped us off at the airport.

Good value and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The Underground Motel rates itself as a 3 star, which is about right. It's a novelty staying underground, but you wouldn't want to do it for too long. The rooms open into a central atrium (sort of - see the photos someone has posted), which makes for a noisy morning as anyone coming out of their rooms for breakfast creates an unavoidable noise. Both mornings we were there, people were out from 6 am.

Service was good; the proprietor helped us with our laundry.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.4 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Underground Motel

Address: P.O. Box 375 | Catacomb Road, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coober Pedy
#3 Business Hotel in Coober Pedy
#4 Family Hotel in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well maintained property with very clean rooms and grounds, situated on the edge of the town center in a quiet and secure area. All rooms underground, with ensuite shower/toilet, TV and phone. Internet WiFi Hotspot. Great elevated location offering a fantastic view over the desert landscape and the Breakaways. Outdoor setting under veranda, trailer/caravan parking, children's play area, BBQ, kitchen and laundry facilities. Visitor information and tour arrangements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Underground Hotel Coober Pedy
Underground Hotel Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing