We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal friendly service at affordable prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Underground Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coober Pedy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Underground Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Personal friendly service at affordable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

There are other places to stay in Coober Pedy that are closer to the "town centre" but I doubt if there are many where the service and genuine welcome will be as good as it is here. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. There are reasonably preiced and a very adequate continental breakfast was included in the price which was very convenient. The rooms are not large but others have said but this is no major issue. We had an outdoor table and chairs so room to relax outdoors as well - very nice. The dugout bedroom was cosy, comfortable and fun. Mike couldnt have been more accommodating. He was very happy to drop us to town, pick us again when we had enough, or take us anywhere we wanted to go - nothing was too much trouble. Coober Pedy is a special and unusual place and this motel is a great place to stay to get a little taste of what life is like here. We loved it. I am sure you will too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    61
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
82
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Before we arrived, i was a bit hesitant in staying underground, but after arriving felt better about it. Even though you are underground it didnt feel that way. Rooms were nice, not overly big. Everything was clean. Breakfast room was nice. It was great just to be able to walk in and grab a cuppa or leave some drinks in there for the next day. So going on that we were heading to ayers rock so on the way back we decided to not risk staying anywhere and stay here again. Owner was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

The underground motel is from the start a wonderful experience. Upon arrival the managers Michael and Merce bent over backwards to greet us and make Us welcome. We asked if there was a chance of an upgrade as we required a fridge and with no problem we were offered one. The rooms are not huge but they are adequate and comfortable. The only problem we encountered in the room was the lack of air con but there was a fan to help cool us. Being cut into solid rock it is something that most people are not used to but give it a go. The facilities and complimentary breakfast were second to none.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite well worth the extra few bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Awesome experience! It was great because the rooms were all rock (notice other places have sheet rock etc). The only disapointment was in the morning I felt there should have been a bit more variety for the complementary continental breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Staying in an underground apartment...a truly unique experience.

We rented an 'apartment' with 2 bedrooms, a living area and a kitchen. The rooms were clean and cosy. The bathroom was modern and clean.It felt like we were living in a cave, but with all creature comforts. Breakfast was also provided by way of a decently stocked fridge and pantry. Bread, cereals, milk, butter, jam and fruits ..... more than adequate.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALR0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a must stop everyone should experience. The rooms are craved out of rock and decorated very nicely. The rooms were a comfortable mid 70's while the outside temperature was over 100 degrees. Very nice bathroom and a small kitchen area helped even more to make it a very cozy room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ewh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury, null, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Our kids loved the underground experience. We liked the verandah, great place to have a drink or read a book. Very comfortable. The communal kitchen was well appointed and very useful during our three day stay. Merce was really helpful when we left some medicine behind too.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Underground Motel

Property: The Underground Motel
Address: P.O. Box 375 | Catacomb Road, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coober Pedy
#3 Business Hotel in Coober Pedy
#4 Family Hotel in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well maintained property with very clean rooms and grounds, situated on the edge of the town center in a quiet and secure area. All rooms underground, with ensuite shower/toilet, TV and phone. Internet WiFi Hotspot. Great elevated location offering a fantastic view over the desert landscape and the Breakaways. Outdoor setting under veranda, trailer/caravan parking, children's play area, BBQ, kitchen and laundry facilities. Visitor information and tour arrangements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Underground Hotel Coober Pedy
Underground Hotel Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing