We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coober Pedy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Underground Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfull stay”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed there on 14 April 2013, it was a great exeperience and Marcy the manager was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very clean and tidy, will defenitely recomend this hotel to anyone. Kris n Mala Darwin

Room Tip: It could get a bit warm, request for a room with a good fast fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krishnamoorthy7259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    62
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
85
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

stayed for a night this past week.Our family room was impeccably clean, well stocked and maintained.The outdoor sitting area with view was a lovely place to sit in the evening.The in room continental breakfast provisions were very convenient.The hotel was quiet and restful.Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hungry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We found the motel through a general search and then checked out the Trip Advisor ratings before booking. When we called to reserve a room the receptionist was accommodating and very helpful with directions. The motel is located just outside the main town area and has plenty of parking.

We were given one of the lower ground rooms and was very impressed by the layout and the work that went into digging it out. The room was clean and tidy. Besides having a sitting and dinning area (and sleeping, of course) there was a little kitchenette area that provided a mini fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle. The fridge was stocked with milk, cold water, bread, butter and various spreads. Dry goods (cereal and biscuits) and fruit were also stocked through the duration of our stay.

Despite being underground, the room tended to heat up through the day and was fairly warm during the evening which made it a bit hard to sleep comfortably through the night. We made good use of the shower and wall-mounted fan to try and keep us cool. My husband, being the tinker that he is, quickly called out that a bigger/faster exhaust fan was need to pull the heat out of the room - which would make a very big difference, especially during the warmer months.

Internet access is provided free of charge, but only seems accessible from the upper ground floor. Which is a great excuse to grab a drink, sit at a table and enjoy the cool dusk weather (which means no flies!) not to mention catch one of the most beautiful sunsets you will ever see.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the top ground as they might have a bit more ventilation than the entry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlstvnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Be home in time for sunset, sit on the tables grab your camera and a beer and take it all in.

Breakfast was...err... kinda funny, toast with butter, toast with vegemite, toast with jam or cornflakes.

We stayed "downstairs" and the room was cool during the day but really hot at night, so hot I couldn't sleep, outside was cool, but inside was hot. A little fan on one of the ventilation tubes would have sorted this out or a bigger ventilation tube.

It did have the internet though which is a good thing.

I wouldn't stay here again, but I would expect the same kind of thing from the next hotel and wouldn't be surprised if it was exactly the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0rschach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed for 4nights, I was very happy with the standard of room, the cleanness, and the very friendly and helpful service I received while staying there. Merci was very accommodating, dropping me off, and picking me up, if needed, as there is no taxi service in town. The Underground motel, is within walking distance of the township, and I walked there and back, and around town most days. The veranda was a welcoming spot to watch the sunset in the evening with a cool drink after a long day out. I would recommend this place for any type of traveller.

Room Tip: up stairs, apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizaj963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

There are other places to stay in Coober Pedy that are closer to the "town centre" but I doubt if there are many where the service and genuine welcome will be as good as it is here. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. There are reasonably preiced and a very adequate continental breakfast was included in the price which was very convenient. The rooms are not large but others have said but this is no major issue. We had an outdoor table and chairs so room to relax outdoors as well - very nice. The dugout bedroom was cosy, comfortable and fun. Mike couldnt have been more accommodating. He was very happy to drop us to town, pick us again when we had enough, or take us anywhere we wanted to go - nothing was too much trouble. Coober Pedy is a special and unusual place and this motel is a great place to stay to get a little taste of what life is like here. We loved it. I am sure you will too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Before we arrived, i was a bit hesitant in staying underground, but after arriving felt better about it. Even though you are underground it didnt feel that way. Rooms were nice, not overly big. Everything was clean. Breakfast room was nice. It was great just to be able to walk in and grab a cuppa or leave some drinks in there for the next day. So going on that we were heading to ayers rock so on the way back we decided to not risk staying anywhere and stay here again. Owner was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#7 of 7 in Coober Pedy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Underground Motel

Property: The Underground Motel
Address: P.O. Box 375 | Catacomb Road, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coober Pedy
#3 Business Hotel in Coober Pedy
#4 Family Hotel in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well maintained property with very clean rooms and grounds, situated on the edge of the town center in a quiet and secure area. All rooms underground, with ensuite shower/toilet, TV and phone. Internet WiFi Hotspot. Great elevated location offering a fantastic view over the desert landscape and the Breakaways. Outdoor setting under veranda, trailer/caravan parking, children's play area, BBQ, kitchen and laundry facilities. Visitor information and tour arrangements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Underground Hotel Coober Pedy
Underground Hotel Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing