We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dugout accommodation in Coober Pedy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coober Pedy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Underground Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Underground Motel was recommended by a friend to us as a great place to stay. It proved to be an excellent recommendation. We had booked the motel as a novelty and and we weren't sure what to expect staying underground. However we thoroughly enjoyed the experience and ended up returning for a second stay. The tariff was $125 a night and this included a 'make-your-own' continental breakfast. Making breakfast with other guests was a highlight of our stay. We got to talk to people from around Australia and share their travel adventures. The standard of cleanliness was exceptional and the staff very friendly and helpful - the manager took the time to mark on a map places of interest to visit when we booked in. We even received a 10% discount at a local pizza restaurant because we mentioned it had been recommended by the manager at The Underground Motel. We particularly enjoyed sitting outside on the veranda in the evening. Tables and chairs have been set up to allow guests to sit and watch the view across to the hills. The manager advised us that the veranda area is a particularly popular spot in the warmer months. The Underground Motel has only a small number of rooms so it would be sensible to book well in advance for a memorable stay 'underground'.

Room Tip: Room 3 is suitable for a couple and is very quiet - we couldn't even hear toilets flushing and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here one night on our way from Adelaide to Alice Springs, for the underground experience, and we were not disappointed.

I could go into detail, but nomad949,Ozmatho and Michael c have more or less said it all.

What I will say however is if you are wanting an underground experience while in Coober Pedy, I highly recommend this motel, and you will find the staff fantastic - promise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Took a quick road trip to Coober Pedy with friends to check the place out. Booked a couple rooms at the Underground Motel. We had a fabulous weekend touring around Coober Pedy and really enjoyed using the Underground Motel for a home base. It was a lovely place with a veranda we enjoyed in the morning and the evening. The staff was really helpful in giving us tips for places to eat and tours to try. It was a great get away. I know where I'll be staying next time I find my way to Coober Pedy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have stayed at this motel previously and wanted to take interstate friends there for the underground experience. It is very clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly & helpful with advice regarding restaurants, tours etc. A continental breakfast is included.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ozmatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I stayed a night here, largely to have the underground accommodation experience.

The room was reasonably spacious, given it was underground, and bathroom facilities were good. My wife found it somewhat claustrophobic, but I enjoyed the novelty.

Breakfast was complimentary, but the bare basics were supplied - white bread, fruit, milk, and cereals. The communal-kitchen area was quite small, allowing only one family or couple comfortably at a time.

Staff were helpful, and we would suggest it's worthwhile having at least one night underground in Coober Pedy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A very pleasant one night stay, en route further north. The room was a good size, well maintained and sufficient shower and washing facilities. The kitchen had tea/coffee making all day, and breakfast supplies were good. Free internet was an added bonus!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank mas5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stopped in for a night en route to Adelaide after a week on the road and this place exceeded our expectations. Initial thoughts on Coober Pedy were not too flash but after checking in to the Underground Motel we settled in after cooking in the excellent common kitchen and were blown away by the clean rooms and well appointed decor . Service was excellent as was value for money. Best accommodation so far on the trip

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manfredman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Underground Motel

Address: P.O. Box 375 | Catacomb Road, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well maintained property with very clean rooms and grounds, situated on the edge of the town center in a quiet and secure area. All rooms underground, with ensuite shower/toilet, TV and phone. Internet WiFi Hotspot. Great elevated location offering a fantastic view over the desert landscape and the Breakaways. Outdoor setting under veranda, trailer/caravan parking, children's play area, BBQ, kitchen and laundry facilities. Visitor information and tour arrangements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Underground Hotel Coober Pedy
Underground Hotel Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing