We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed and airy underground room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coober Pedy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Underground Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“relaxed and airy underground room”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We arrived in the morning and were pleased to be able to check in to our suite early and unhitch our trailer before venturing out to see some of the sights of Coober Pedy. The suite was clean, reasonably spacious for two people, and not at all stuffy. Despite being underground, we had good phone reception as well as good TV reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izwozere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    63
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
86
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everyone should try this, even if just once. This place is small, clean, well run, very well appointed, and will give you a very quiet night's sleep. Everything works as it should - no surprises. Good breakfast supplied, with restaurants nearby for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We travelled through Coober Pedy and just had to stay at least one night underground.
We decided on the Underground Motel and were not disappointed.
We arrived late in the evening and were met by a lovely friendly lady who could not have more helpful. She checked us in and showed us to our room and the guest breakfast room.
It is a very quiet place and the rooms are excellent. It was definitely a great experience and had we not been pressed for time we would have stayed longer.
This motel is a must for visitors to Coober Pedy who want the underground experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 120CMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wandering
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our family of four loved this place. You can not go to Coober Pedy without experiencing what 50% of the population does. The motel kind of has a south western feel to it with the cactus garden and terracotta decor. The place was spotless and friendly employees. We could self cater too but kitchen was a little cramped and several utensils missing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wogolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Underground Motel was recommended by a friend to us as a great place to stay. It proved to be an excellent recommendation. We had booked the motel as a novelty and and we weren't sure what to expect staying underground. However we thoroughly enjoyed the experience and ended up returning for a second stay. The tariff was $125 a night and this included a 'make-your-own' continental breakfast. Making breakfast with other guests was a highlight of our stay. We got to talk to people from around Australia and share their travel adventures. The standard of cleanliness was exceptional and the staff very friendly and helpful - the manager took the time to mark on a map places of interest to visit when we booked in. We even received a 10% discount at a local pizza restaurant because we mentioned it had been recommended by the manager at The Underground Motel. We particularly enjoyed sitting outside on the veranda in the evening. Tables and chairs have been set up to allow guests to sit and watch the view across to the hills. The manager advised us that the veranda area is a particularly popular spot in the warmer months. The Underground Motel has only a small number of rooms so it would be sensible to book well in advance for a memorable stay 'underground'.

Room Tip: Room 3 is suitable for a couple and is very quiet - we couldn't even hear toilets flushing and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here one night on our way from Adelaide to Alice Springs, for the underground experience, and we were not disappointed.

I could go into detail, but nomad949,Ozmatho and Michael c have more or less said it all.

What I will say however is if you are wanting an underground experience while in Coober Pedy, I highly recommend this motel, and you will find the staff fantastic - promise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Took a quick road trip to Coober Pedy with friends to check the place out. Booked a couple rooms at the Underground Motel. We had a fabulous weekend touring around Coober Pedy and really enjoyed using the Underground Motel for a home base. It was a lovely place with a veranda we enjoyed in the morning and the evening. The staff was really helpful in giving us tips for places to eat and tours to try. It was a great get away. I know where I'll be staying next time I find my way to Coober Pedy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.1 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.8 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Underground Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Underground Motel

Property: The Underground Motel
Address: P.O. Box 375 | Catacomb Road, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Coober Pedy
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coober Pedy
#4 Family Hotel in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well maintained property with very clean rooms and grounds, situated on the edge of the town center in a quiet and secure area. All rooms underground, with ensuite shower/toilet, TV and phone. Internet WiFi Hotspot. Great elevated location offering a fantastic view over the desert landscape and the Breakaways. Outdoor setting under veranda, trailer/caravan parking, children's play area, BBQ, kitchen and laundry facilities. Visitor information and tour arrangements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Underground Hotel Coober Pedy
Underground Hotel Coober Pedy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing