We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Van park”
Review of Opal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Opal Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here for three nights and found the amenities clean, no water to vans but water was availible for drinking. We use our van tanks for the time we were there. Water is precious in Coober Pedy! The staff were friendly and helpful to book local tours.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glick76au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Have stayed here a few times now and always comfortable. This time seems like new team running the motel and restaurant and seems much improved and very friendly. Bistro meal good value and worth a visit as staff friendly and food nice. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for front downstairs room if have trailer as better parking. Eat at bistro economical good pub m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lassirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

On the way to Darwin for our annual fishing trip we encounted car problems near Coober Pedy. After getting towed into town we booked in to the Opal Inn. We got the 120 $ per night rooms. Beds good. Tv only has 5 channels. Not much to do in Coober pedy that doesn't revolve around opals. But then place grows on you.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyBee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We needed a decent nights rest after being on the road for 3 days and sleeping rough in our car in some dodgy caravan parks. Opal Inn was just right for us.

Reception was very friendly and mindful of our security, warning us to not leave anything in our car. Like many outback towns, Coober Pedy is suffering some real social problems with the aborigines - a real shame. We didn't explore the town because A. We were exhausted and B. we simply didn't feel safe.

We enjoyed a good nights sleep. Clean room and facilities. The Bistro provides hearty meals that are big portions and good value. Once again, very friendly staff.

We particularly enjoyed the little grassed oasis outside of the budget rooms - chilled out in the evening with a beer.

Will return for sure when we travel in a more 'holiday' frame of mind and have more time. Interesting place.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre - I accidentally clicked on them and you can't undo on the Ip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

As my hubby is not fan of underground hotel this is one of the few places that is not. We got the budget motel room since we are only staying overnight from a long drive and priority is just to rest. Room is understandably small but still provide adequate ensuite facility. It made good use of sliding door to the toilet so it does not feel too crowded. It is a close walking distance to our favorite Greek restaurant in Coober Pedy so good location. The only suggestion is to provide some sort of lights on the parking area for the budget room area as it is quite dark and inspite of the reception direction it is confusing to find the parking area. It is still good value for money and receptionist was friendly and did as she promised to bring my invoice to my room as she was still trainee and ask for assistance while we go out for dinner. Basic toiletries are provided which is always welcome. Will stay again for overnight accomodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed here one night as part of a tour. Room was ok but breakfast was very poor. Very little choice and couldn't even get a yoghurt and only fruit available came out of a tin! Breakfast room dark and uninviting. Didn't have dinner here as tour operator preferred Joe's pizza parlour and looking at the menu of the Opal Inn I couldn't blame him!

Room Tip: downstairs better than upstairs as do not have to lug the bags up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We managed to get a spot backing onto the only grassed area, which was good for kids to play around. Amenities clean although 20c for showers required. Although you could hear street noise, despite being at back of motel, although I think most of Coober Pedy would of heard it this night. If I was to call in on Coober Pedy again, I would definitely take an underground motel room. As camp sites are nothing much, and that would be a real experience and you wouldn't hear any local riff raff noise.
.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank n k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.9 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Inn

Address: Lot 1 Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range: £66 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Opal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of the town of Coober Pedy in the heart of outback South Australia. It is a unique town with underground homes, restaurants, shops, churches and walk-in underground mines. Alice Springs is around 680 km away, and Adelaide is some 850 km away. This 80-room hotel is a popular destination in Coober Pedy, tourists come here, as much to holiday as to explore why this town is so famous amongst gemstone lovers. The air-conditioned hotel includes a lobby, bar, restaurant and conference facilities. Free car parking and free wifi is available to guests. The hotel offers a host of rooms and facilities for its various guests. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and feature with reverse cycle air conditioning systems and modern amenities, including a hairdryer, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Guests can have pre-dinner drinks at the bar and later dine at the in-house restaurant, the in-house kitchen can provide you with a sumptuous breakfast to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Opal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing