We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and very relaxed”
Review of Opal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opal Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
554 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Good value and very relaxed”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Large complex with a mixture of rooms...Greyhound stops directly opposite so easy access to motel. It is situated at the top of the high street, so easy access to shops and the post office.Bistro in complex served extremely generous portions at dinner, breakfast was a continental buffet self service, you could also order cooked food if wished....Food well presented and good quality.
Room was good size with a double and a single bed, plus a settee that converted into a pull out bed....Good supply of clean linen and toileteries, tea, milk etc... Room was bright cheerful, clean and welcoming. Guest laundry in caravan park at the back of rooms, reasonable priced for wash and dry.....Staff very efficient, helpful and informative re trips etc. Very pleasant, welcoming feel in all area's of the complex. Would highly recommend to travellers.....a brilliant stay and our thanks to our hosts...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    48
    42
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
58
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

A good basic motel to put your head down, there are 100's of these all over Australia. Nothing wrong with them but nothing exceptional either - a clean place to sleep. My only complaint was being woken up in the middle of the night every time someone next door went to the bathroom - however this might have been the design of our particular room as it was second from the end & next to a door marked private. The Indian guy at reception was particularly nice, efficient & helpful.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coober pedy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Opal Inn offered great value for $ , above our expectations,

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adele324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

A real oasis in the middle of nowhere. Good food in the bar and very friendly and efficient staff.

  • Liked — Cmfortable room with a nice en suite
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyelander174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

The Opal Inn is a basic motel, with cheap rates and very clean and comfortable rooms. This is by no means luxury accommodation, but it offers everything you need and the service was great. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and there are a lot of regulars who stay here as they travel up and down the highway for work.
We had one small hiccup, which was someone pulling back the tonneau cover on my friend's ute (pick-up truck) during the night, (but nothing was taken) but on our next stay a week later when we mentioned this to the staff, they gave us another room around the side of the motel and near another (regular) guest whose dogs sleep in his car - as they said the dogs would bark if anyone went near the car. They certainly went out of their way to assist us.
The motel also has a bistro on-site and the food was excellent. Good quality pub food. The only thing to note is that due to the remote location, the alcoholic drinks at the bar are a bit more expensive than in other places.
It's very easy to find the Opal Inn - it's near the highway, and there's a big sign as soon as you turn off the highway. It's also right next to a petrol station, which is very convenient.
I'd definitely recommend this motel.

  • Liked — Great service, good food, comfortable rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
0.3 mi away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
0.5 mi away
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opal Inn

Property: Opal Inn
Address: Lot 1 Hutchison Street, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Opal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of the town of Coober Pedy in the heart of outback South Australia. It is a unique town with underground homes, restaurants, shops, churches and walk-in underground mines. Alice Springs is around 680 km away, and Adelaide is some 850 km away. This 80-room hotel is a popular destination in Coober Pedy, tourists come here, as much to holiday as to explore why this town is so famous amongst gemstone lovers. The air-conditioned hotel includes a lobby, bar, restaurant and conference facilities. Free car parking and free wifi is available to guests. The hotel offers a host of rooms and facilities for its various guests. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and feature with reverse cycle air conditioning systems and modern amenities, including a hairdryer, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Guests can have pre-dinner drinks at the bar and later dine at the in-house restaurant, the in-house kitchen can provide you with a sumptuous breakfast to start the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Opal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing