We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great and peaceful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great and peaceful place”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

At first we were wondering that after booking it said we needed a car to get there and around. So we went to rent a car on Kangaroo Island which came along with quite some additional costs (we rented a SUV because there are so many unsealed roads on KI and there is a small piece of unsealed road to get to the cottages)

So when we arrived after 45 min drive from Kingscote we found a great place, there were kangaroos all aound the cottages and the view over the cliff to Stokes Bay was just beautiful. The cottage itself was very modern, spacious, clean and comfortable. It had a TV and a DVD player. The owner were very nice about everything and lend us some DVDs. As well, there were fly screens in front of the windows and in front of the door, it really helps to keep thse bugs outside, escpecially at night.

The owners were really helpful. At one point the gas did not work, they came right away to help and could fix everything right away.

With our car we went to explore the island. It was worth renting it and it was worth coming out here. We liked our stay so much, thank you Katja and Paul!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanta_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
119
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

During my stay on Kangaroo Island I was very pleased with my stay at Waves & Wildlife Cottages.
The location is stunning with Stokes bay still being one of my all time favorite beaches. The cottage is super clean and has a simple but very nice interieur in a very calm and quiet surrounding.
In the evening you can enjoy the sunset while having a barbecue or just sit and watch the kangaroos and other wildlife grazing just in front of you. In case you need anything you can call the owners pretty much anytime.
As I already mentioned, the beach is magnificant. Its only a short walk away down the cliff and after you walk through a nice and short rock tunnel the view opens up.
Its also great for children, since there is a small rock pool which protects from the oceans swell. And if you dont mind the cold water, snorkeling can be a very pleasent experience on a calm day.
Overall a great stay and I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our first impression of Waves & Wildlife was a friendly email response within an hour of our website enquiry... The great service continued & we were welcomed by dozens of kangaroos as we arrived at the cottages! The accommodation is clean, comfortable and with such a beautiful view of Stokes Bay - its a very relaxed setting. We enjoyed relaxing over dinner on the balcony while watching the sunset and the roos play just as much as exploring the Island. Enjoyed collecting local produce each day to enjoy - KI Sheep Dairy haloumi, Clifford's honey, honeycomb ice cream, local wines etc
We are already talking about our next visit & would definitely stay here again - excellent value for money and we're sure many lasting memories!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012 via mobile

We were guests of "waves and wildlife cottages" for 4 days and strongly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a pleasant and quiet place with a fantastic view of the bay, and the wildlife. We went during the winter but we can't imagine how wonderful the bay will be in the summer! The owner went above and beyond and was very attentive.
Very pleased.

From the Kezeli family NEw York, NY

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota City, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This place is an unexpected gem right on the cliffs overlooking stunning sunsets and ocean views. The self contained houses made it seem like our own piece of paradise with everything we needed (even gas heating!) Dinner on our balcony was especially unique, surrounded by kangaroos! A 5 star visit all round.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was staying at Waves and Wildlife with my friend and it is true...
Waves: the beach is just 200m away and...
Wildlife: every day we had breakfast on the porch and there were a bunch of Kangaroos just hanging out in the sun and in the shade.
It is quiet and a cafe just down the hill where you can grab a coffee.
The owners are very nice and helpful.
If you want to spend time on Kangaroo Island, I would suggest to stop by and stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a five-day stay at Waves and Wildlife and hve nothing but praise for it. One evening, we counted 61 kangaroos hopping near our cabin as the beautiful sunset unfolded. They are not quite tame enough to touch but the owner, Paul Stanton, also runs an animal sanctuary, just up the hill, where you can feed them by hand and cuddle some very tame koalas. Our vist to KI was just great.

Room Tip: There are four one-bedroon cabins and two three-bedroom ones. All seem to be in great shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kangaroo Island hotels
33.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
41.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
379 reviews
24.3 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Searenity Holiday Accommodation
23.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
53.3 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves and Wildlife Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves and Wildlife Cottages

Property: Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Address: 1-8 North Coast Road | Stokes Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Kangaroo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves and Wildlife Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self contained one and three bedroom Seaside Cottages on the north coast of Kangaroo Island. If you are planning a holiday to Kangaroo Island, please contact us anytime, Paul has lived here all his life and we are more than happy to help you plan an itinerary to make the most of your stay. Cottages are set on 80 acres bordering Stokes Bay beach and being revegetated, providing sanctuary to abundant wildlife including kangaroos, wallabies, birds, echidnas, and the occasional koala discovering our newly planted gums. Pods of dolphins and resident pelicans are also sighted often at Stokes Bay. Property features· Great swimming beach with safe natural rockpool for children· Central location· Neighbours Lathami National Park – home to the rare Glossy Black Cockatoo· Boatramp – 500 meters away Each Cottage features· Magnificent ocean views· Fully equipped kitchen· Queen beds· Gas heating and Ceiling fans· BBQ· TV, DVD, Video· Phone· DVDs, Toys and Games available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waves and Wildlife Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing